Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
We only used 2 cups of sugar, and dusted with tapioca starch. It was delicious, texture was soft and perfect! Will go great with ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Fantastic easy recipe. Used only 2 cups of sugar .. still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
The recipe itself is great, and very easy to make! I used slightly less sugar than the recipe called for, and it was perfect. I took other reviewers' advice and "tented" the foil in the middle of the pan, as well as removing it after 1 hour and baking for an additional 10 minutes. I also omitted the red food coloring because I didn't have any handy and I prefer white mochi anyway. One caveat, though: I lined the Pyrex dish with wax paper, thinking that it would stick less. Not only did it still stick with vigor, the wax paper also melted into the mochi, rendering most of it completely impossible to eat! I will try again, using a bit of oil and flour to prep the dish instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The texture was very good, chewy, and smooth. The taste was just sweet enough and tasted exactly like store bought mochi. I used red food coloring to make these pink. I also substituted tapioca starch for dusting since that's what I had on hand and the taste was unaffected. Next time, will try to put ice cream or red bean paste in the center to make them even more spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
In case anyone can only get a larger than 1 LB box of sweet glutinous rice flour and needs to know how much equals 1 lb: I measured the contents of a 1LB box of Mochiko and it came out to 2 Cups + 3/4 Cup + 1 tsp + 1/4 tsp. give or take a smidge ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
HELPFUL Hints...Follow recipe to a "T". After baking for an hour it will not look done (except for an inch around the perimeter). It's OK and really IS done. Leave it overnight loosely covered with foil. Must be completely cool before cutting otherwise you end up with odd shapes. I used the straight edge of my cutting scraper to get even cuts (that you scoop cut veggies etc with). The purpose of the potato starch is to keep the edges from sticking to everything. Go EASY as it masks the flavor of the mochi. I "spank" the excess off so they are very lightly covered. I've baked in both types (metal and glass) and prefer the pyrex as the edges don't get as hard. Plus the edges soften overnight and are fine to keep. I added a picture to show how lightly to coat and how neatly the shape turns out when you wait for it to cool (on the yellow plate). I also grew up in Hawaii and found this to beat out all my Hawaiian recipe books. Thanks for the post Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This stuff is so good we bribe our friends with it. Nobody we know has found it too sweet, either. I think the sugar and the coconut work very well together in the proportions given. Just be careful; don't be a dolt like me and accidentally pick up plain, non-glutinous rice flour. It won't work at all. Also, an extra ten minutes and an elevated center to the tinfoil will help lots, as other users have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Really simple recipe. I don't have a lot of experience with baking and making food in general, but it was pretty simple. I had a problem with mine and that was with the foil. The center didn't get to cook all the way because the foil ended up touching it, so like I read what someone else said, the thing that I would do next time is make the foil go up in the center so when it bakes the mochi doesn't rise to touch the foil or the foil fall to touch the mochi (I'm not sure which one was the culprit). Then, the 2 1/2 cups white sugar seemed a bit much for me. I don't eat a lot of sugary things so even though this is pretty light compared to some things, it was still too much. Next time, I would probably either use less sugar or some kind of sugar substitute that is a lot more light to make it more fitting to my constitution. I would also probably bake it for 10 mins or so like someone else said, without the foil, to get the finishing 'bake' done to the whole mochi. I am a newbie at making food so some of these might be foolish mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe is even quicker and easier than it sounds. I followed this recipe almost exactly, and had no problems. I used 1/3 cup less sugar, and it came out just sweet enough. When baking, I would suggest taking off the foil for the last 10 minutes, Or keep the foil up so it won't touch the mochi. Otherwise the foil sweats onto the mochi and makes it soggy. I didn't have vanilla or color, so it was a little bland, but I dusted it with powdered sugar & cocoa instead of starch - worked out fine. It seems easy to make flavor changes to this, so I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I love mochi, but in Bali, they always sell mochi with peanut filling. It's round with peanut and sugar inside (maybe someone think this is a good idea?). But I prefer plain. I think it's a lot better. I halved the recipe to give it a try and came out great. I found that it's more difficult to take the mochi out of the pan, rather than cutting it. And I cut the coconut milk bcos I don't want it too coconut-y. I don't have potato starch, so I use corn starch instead. I 'fried' it a few minutes, w/o oil of course, just to have it cooked a little bit. So I didn't eat raw starch. Anyway, will make this again and again. I'm so happy I can make my own mochi. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States