Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made a half batch and it turned out SO GREAT! This really is as easy as all of these comments say it is. I made it last night and let it sit on the stovetop to cool overnight. Dusted it with more mochiko this morning and cut it with my pastry cutter. Next time, I'm going to use pandan extract instead of red food coloring and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is such an amazing recipe! It was very easy to make. My friends loved the mochi and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good, chewy chichi dango! I had some at a Pinkberry the other day and had to try to make it myself! Here's some tips: It's fine to omit the food colouring. I used mango puree instead of coconut milk and it came out perfect! Only use 2 cups sugar, and it will be sweet enough. When covering with foil, make it domed so that the mochi doesn't touch the foil. I have a fairly new oven which has a higher temp than usual. I still baked for 1hr at 350 degrees, came out looking very runny in the middle (I could still move the batter around in the middle) so I turned off the oven and left it in for 10 more mins - came out perfect! It should look slightly UNDERDONE but not to the point where there is still liquid on top - will be jiggly and move around in pan. I left mine to cool overnight at room temp! I didn't have potato starch, so I used the mochiko. I microwaved it for 20 seconds to be safe :) Also, when removing foil it will stick, (I forgot to grease foil) so use the rice flour on your hands and rip the foil off the mochi, not the mochi off the foil & it will come off easily. When cutting, use a plastic knife wrapped in seran wrap which cuts through effortlessly and doesn't stick! What I did was dump all the cut pieces into the mochiko and then put them in a sifter and tossed them around to get off the extra flour on them! Good luck everyone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeLover99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Delishious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
good flavour although very sweet... the texture at the edge of the mochi was good.. the inside was chewy and horrible. I think I will do a smaller batch next time :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I've made it more times than I can count and the first time I followed it to a T. I have omitted the vanilla as it isn't a traditional Japanese sweet. My mom is from Japan and she loves this recipe. I also add mini spoonfuls of sweet red bean paste throughout and love it. One last thing, I've always used corn flour to dust and it turns out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeanqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made some of this as an ice cream or frozen yogurt topping, so I cut it into pretty small pieces, which was a little time consuming (but worth it). When made for this purpose, this recipe yields a rather substantial batch, far more than I could ever eat. I tried keeping it in the fridge, hoping that it would keep a little longer. It was really good when fresh, but after several days it got a little dry and crumbly. Since the beauty of mochi is in its texture, that was kind of disappointing. This is a great recipe though and really pretty easy (aside from the tedious work of cutting it into bits). I highly recommend it for mochi fans out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My kids ask me to make this on a regular basis. I did as one reviewer suggested and put the pan in a hot water bath. I found it took about 15 minutes longer to bake. My family like the plain and green tea flavors best. (see reviews) If you have a steamer, cook it in that. It's the way it is done traditionally, and you won't get any crusty edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
First time trying to make homemade mochi using your recipe but substituted the red food dye for cacao powder instead, and I too used tapioca starch and it tastes great! Thank you so much for putting this out there for everyone to enjoy! I'll definitely be using this as a base for other flavored mochis to come;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States