Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
HELPFUL Hints...Follow recipe to a "T". After baking for an hour it will not look done (except for an inch around the perimeter). It's OK and really IS done. Leave it overnight loosely covered with foil. Must be completely cool before cutting otherwise you end up with odd shapes. I used the straight edge of my cutting scraper to get even cuts (that you scoop cut veggies etc with). The purpose of the potato starch is to keep the edges from sticking to everything. Go EASY as it masks the flavor of the mochi. I "spank" the excess off so they are very lightly covered. I've baked in both types (metal and glass) and prefer the pyrex as the edges don't get as hard. Plus the edges soften overnight and are fine to keep. I added a picture to show how lightly to coat and how neatly the shape turns out when you wait for it to cool (on the yellow plate). I also grew up in Hawaii and found this to beat out all my Hawaiian recipe books. Thanks for the post Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe came out terrifically! I live in Hawaii and buying Chi Chi Dango is expensive relative to the ingredients and ease of making. (About a dozen 1.5 inch pieces will sell for $5!) So I decided to find a recipe and make it myself. I've made it three times within a week and each time it has come out perfectly. I will share some lessons. For some reason, some stores only have 13.5 oz (not the 14 oz in the recipe) cans of coconut milk. It was not a problem. Also, if you let your kids help you with the potato starch dusting, make sure they go easy. To them it looks like powdered sugar so they think, the more the better. I ended up individually dusting off the excess from each piece. I agree with the previous reviewer to make sure the pan is completely cool before removing so that it keeps its shape. Lastly, trim and discard the hard edges. (The sides get crisp as it is against the pan.) I shared the results with many different people and they all said it was the best they ever had. Thank you Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
this came out perfect! be patient and let it cool before cutting it into pieces..otherwise they come out shapeless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
It's so good it allows you to play with colors and flavorings! I have tried green tea powder, strawberry, lemon, melon, cinnamon, cappucino, and chocolate flavorings. And all turned out fabulous. It's so easy to make, too! I just dump everything to food processor and process it for a 10 or 15 seconds before pouring it into the lightly greased pan. Fool proof. Also try substitute half coconut milk with non dairy whipping cream and you will never look back. Some tips: a) I bake mine in water bath, bottom rack, for about 1 hour to avoid the crusty edge problem. b) Let it cool down completely at least two hours, overnight better, before flipping it out of the pan. c) Use lightly greased plastic cake knife for easier cutting. d) For safer option, toast the coating starch without oil for few minutes and cool it down completely before using. e) For the neat coating, put coated mochi in a big strainer and shake the excessive starch off. Excellent recipe! The only bad thing about this mochi is that I can't stop eating them!! Definitely a keeper. Thanks, Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrot Cake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I'm from Hawaii, moved to California and have been looking for a good mochi recipe. This recipe is perfect. The mochi comes out soft and chewy. I made mine pink. Just be patient and let it cool completely. Best is to make it a day ahead and let it cool overnight, then cut in pieces the following morning. Much easier to handle and slice. Also used the trick of wrapping a plastic knife in saran wrap. I never used that method before and it made the cutting soooo easy! I used potato starch to coat. Wonderful - just like the old japanese grandmas used to make for me back home. Followed the recipe to the "T". Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUIW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I made this recipe numerous times. The first two times the center took forever to bake, but the third time I raised the foil in the middle and it baked great. The sides always seemed to overbake, but overall it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
We enjoyed this quite a bit; couldn't find potato starch to roll the gel sweet in; used tapioca starch instead with great results. (Tried powdered sugar, but it threw off the flavor.) Next time we are going to try Mango juice instead of coconut milk, and I bet we like that too! Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMADOOFUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe is terrific! Instead of baking it a 350 degree I bake it at 325 degrees for 1 hour and turn off the oven and left it in for 15 minutes. I also used parchment paper and the edges weren't as hard. My grandchildrens thought I steamed it because it came out so soft and the recipe is easy and they are able to do it on their own. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
EXCELLENT mochi recipe- very authentic. I grew up in Hawaii so I consider myself an expert on mochi. :) Don't worry about cutting off the crust that forms around the edges during cooking- leaving the mochi at room temperature for 24 hours will soften the crust so that it is almost imperceptible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
In case anyone can only get a larger than 1 LB box of sweet glutinous rice flour and needs to know how much equals 1 lb: I measured the contents of a 1LB box of Mochiko and it came out to 2 Cups + 3/4 Cup + 1 tsp + 1/4 tsp. give or take a smidge ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States