Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
EXCELLENT mochi recipe- very authentic. I grew up in Hawaii so I consider myself an expert on mochi. :) Don't worry about cutting off the crust that forms around the edges during cooking- leaving the mochi at room temperature for 24 hours will soften the crust so that it is almost imperceptible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I'm from Hawaii, moved to California and have been looking for a good mochi recipe. This recipe is perfect. The mochi comes out soft and chewy. I made mine pink. Just be patient and let it cool completely. Best is to make it a day ahead and let it cool overnight, then cut in pieces the following morning. Much easier to handle and slice. Also used the trick of wrapping a plastic knife in saran wrap. I never used that method before and it made the cutting soooo easy! I used potato starch to coat. Wonderful - just like the old japanese grandmas used to make for me back home. Followed the recipe to the "T". Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aznsouris
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Yummy and very easy to make! I didn't have any food coloring, so I added about 1/4 teaspoon of Pandan (Screw Pine) paste. It came out with a nice flavor and very pretty shade of green. Though the sides tend to overbake and get crusty, they're just as tasty and fun to chew on. Definitely will be making this again! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aznsouris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe came out terrifically! I live in Hawaii and buying Chi Chi Dango is expensive relative to the ingredients and ease of making. (About a dozen 1.5 inch pieces will sell for $5!) So I decided to find a recipe and make it myself. I've made it three times within a week and each time it has come out perfectly. I will share some lessons. For some reason, some stores only have 13.5 oz (not the 14 oz in the recipe) cans of coconut milk. It was not a problem. Also, if you let your kids help you with the potato starch dusting, make sure they go easy. To them it looks like powdered sugar so they think, the more the better. I ended up individually dusting off the excess from each piece. I agree with the previous reviewer to make sure the pan is completely cool before removing so that it keeps its shape. Lastly, trim and discard the hard edges. (The sides get crisp as it is against the pan.) I shared the results with many different people and they all said it was the best they ever had. Thank you Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was the recipe I've been hoping to find. I didn't want a butter mochi, this one is more like a traditional pounded mochi in flavor. Does anyone know though, if I could cut down the sugar a teeny bit? I made it for Japanese cultural week at preschool, and both kids and adults loved it...not everyone, of course. It's a little new and unusual for some folks. Has anyone tried substituting fruit juice for the water? This recipe was simple and turned out easier and better than I expected. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I grew up in Hawaii and moved to the mainland recently. I was so bummed that I wasn't able to buy mochi in the grocery store anymore. All I had was a glass 9x13 dish and it still came out alright. I didn't want to bother with the potato starch so I just cut what i needed and left the rest whole for later. Thank you so much for this recipe! I made it last night and everyone loved it. I will definitely be making it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Really easy to make (although my mochiko flour got clumpy with liquid so I had to declump them with my hands) and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodandcats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
It was absouletly amazing!! however, I would add maybe pepermint extract or another kind of extract as well to add a bit of zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very good. We halved the recipe, cooked it for 50 minutes. Came out fine. Coated with tapioca starch/flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This mochi recipe is a cinch to make, but the results are not very appetizing. The coconut taste coupled with the sweetness of the mochi made it very cloying to me. I couldn't eat more than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States