Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
HELPFUL Hints...Follow recipe to a "T". After baking for an hour it will not look done (except for an inch around the perimeter). It's OK and really IS done. Leave it overnight loosely covered with foil. Must be completely cool before cutting otherwise you end up with odd shapes. I used the straight edge of my cutting scraper to get even cuts (that you scoop cut veggies etc with). The purpose of the potato starch is to keep the edges from sticking to everything. Go EASY as it masks the flavor of the mochi. I "spank" the excess off so they are very lightly covered. I've baked in both types (metal and glass) and prefer the pyrex as the edges don't get as hard. Plus the edges soften overnight and are fine to keep. I added a picture to show how lightly to coat and how neatly the shape turns out when you wait for it to cool (on the yellow plate). I also grew up in Hawaii and found this to beat out all my Hawaiian recipe books. Thanks for the post Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This stuff is so good we bribe our friends with it. Nobody we know has found it too sweet, either. I think the sugar and the coconut work very well together in the proportions given. Just be careful; don't be a dolt like me and accidentally pick up plain, non-glutinous rice flour. It won't work at all. Also, an extra ten minutes and an elevated center to the tinfoil will help lots, as other users have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Really simple recipe. I don't have a lot of experience with baking and making food in general, but it was pretty simple. I had a problem with mine and that was with the foil. The center didn't get to cook all the way because the foil ended up touching it, so like I read what someone else said, the thing that I would do next time is make the foil go up in the center so when it bakes the mochi doesn't rise to touch the foil or the foil fall to touch the mochi (I'm not sure which one was the culprit). Then, the 2 1/2 cups white sugar seemed a bit much for me. I don't eat a lot of sugary things so even though this is pretty light compared to some things, it was still too much. Next time, I would probably either use less sugar or some kind of sugar substitute that is a lot more light to make it more fitting to my constitution. I would also probably bake it for 10 mins or so like someone else said, without the foil, to get the finishing 'bake' done to the whole mochi. I am a newbie at making food so some of these might be foolish mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe is even quicker and easier than it sounds. I followed this recipe almost exactly, and had no problems. I used 1/3 cup less sugar, and it came out just sweet enough. When baking, I would suggest taking off the foil for the last 10 minutes, Or keep the foil up so it won't touch the mochi. Otherwise the foil sweats onto the mochi and makes it soggy. I didn't have vanilla or color, so it was a little bland, but I dusted it with powdered sugar & cocoa instead of starch - worked out fine. It seems easy to make flavor changes to this, so I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maralin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I love mochi, but in Bali, they always sell mochi with peanut filling. It's round with peanut and sugar inside (maybe someone think this is a good idea?). But I prefer plain. I think it's a lot better. I halved the recipe to give it a try and came out great. I found that it's more difficult to take the mochi out of the pan, rather than cutting it. And I cut the coconut milk bcos I don't want it too coconut-y. I don't have potato starch, so I use corn starch instead. I 'fried' it a few minutes, w/o oil of course, just to have it cooked a little bit. So I didn't eat raw starch. Anyway, will make this again and again. I'm so happy I can make my own mochi. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
this was sooooo easy to make, the flavor is good - I didn't bother with the food coloring as I am too lazy and all the mochi I've ever had has been white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe. It was very easy to make--and to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
i like this recipe so much. the coconut milk practically is the special ingredient. my daughter enjoys it. i had to buy special tools to make this because i made it so often. i put potato starch in a big foil pan & fliped the mochi in it. to make room for cutting & moving around. & i used pam to spray the pan so it wont be too sticky. be careful. too much will cause a mess. it could even ruin the mochi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeneric71504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I really like this recipe. At school we had to bring a dish that had something to do with your culture and all my classmates liked it. I didn't make this recipe before but it was really good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe is terrific! Instead of baking it a 350 degree I bake it at 325 degrees for 1 hour and turn off the oven and left it in for 15 minutes. I also used parchment paper and the edges weren't as hard. My grandchildrens thought I steamed it because it came out so soft and the recipe is easy and they are able to do it on their own. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States