Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This Chi Chi Dango Mochi recipe is delicious! Like everyone else says, follow the recipe to a T and it comes out perfect. The hardest part was having the patience for it to cool off. Mochi is hard to find and when I come across any in my travels, they are expensive. Now I can make my own to give as gifts! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
It's so good it allows you to play with colors and flavorings! I have tried green tea powder, strawberry, lemon, melon, cinnamon, cappucino, and chocolate flavorings. And all turned out fabulous. It's so easy to make, too! I just dump everything to food processor and process it for a 10 or 15 seconds before pouring it into the lightly greased pan. Fool proof. Also try substitute half coconut milk with non dairy whipping cream and you will never look back. Some tips: a) I bake mine in water bath, bottom rack, for about 1 hour to avoid the crusty edge problem. b) Let it cool down completely at least two hours, overnight better, before flipping it out of the pan. c) Use lightly greased plastic cake knife for easier cutting. d) For safer option, toast the coating starch without oil for few minutes and cool it down completely before using. e) For the neat coating, put coated mochi in a big strainer and shake the excessive starch off. Excellent recipe! The only bad thing about this mochi is that I can't stop eating them!! Definitely a keeper. Thanks, Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrot Cake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This mochi comes out great! I've made it several times for different functions, and it is always a hit. Tips I've used that work for me are as follows: 1. Bake the mochi in glass so the edges don't get too hard. 2. Wrap butter knife in plastic wrap to make cutting easier. 3. Roll cut mochi in potato starch and tap(spank) off the extra. Side note: I've also found a recipe here for 'Ono Butter Mochi', which I highly recommend. Thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Very authentic!!! A few tips: I would recommend cooking for longer than one hour. I cooked it for one hour and the middle was still unset and doughy. Maybe add another 15 min. Also, the finished product tastes best when its been in the fridge for a day or two before eating. It gives the moisture time to even out and "set" the mochi pieces. I added azuki (sweet red beans) to my mochi by dropping spoonfuls of it over the top of the mochi batter before baking. I used a sharp metal knife sprayed with cooking spray and it didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
We only used 2 cups of sugar, and dusted with tapioca starch. It was delicious, texture was soft and perfect! Will go great with ice-cream. Note that it tastes more like Singaporean/Malaysian/Indonesian kueh than Japanese mochi, due to the coconut milk, but that's fine with me since I'm Singaporean and I *love* kueh. This tastes similar to lapis sagu, but if you didn't grow up eating Southeast Asian food or Japanese food, you probably won't know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Letitia Lew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Fantastic easy recipe. Used only 2 cups of sugar .. still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
The recipe itself is great, and very easy to make! I used slightly less sugar than the recipe called for, and it was perfect. I took other reviewers' advice and "tented" the foil in the middle of the pan, as well as removing it after 1 hour and baking for an additional 10 minutes. I also omitted the red food coloring because I didn't have any handy and I prefer white mochi anyway. One caveat, though: I lined the Pyrex dish with wax paper, thinking that it would stick less. Not only did it still stick with vigor, the wax paper also melted into the mochi, rendering most of it completely impossible to eat! I will try again, using a bit of oil and flour to prep the dish instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The texture was very good, chewy, and smooth. The taste was just sweet enough and tasted exactly like store bought mochi. I used red food coloring to make these pink. I also substituted tapioca starch for dusting since that's what I had on hand and the taste was unaffected. Next time, will try to put ice cream or red bean paste in the center to make them even more spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
In case anyone can only get a larger than 1 LB box of sweet glutinous rice flour and needs to know how much equals 1 lb: I measured the contents of a 1LB box of Mochiko and it came out to 2 Cups + 3/4 Cup + 1 tsp + 1/4 tsp. give or take a smidge ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
HELPFUL Hints...Follow recipe to a "T". After baking for an hour it will not look done (except for an inch around the perimeter). It's OK and really IS done. Leave it overnight loosely covered with foil. Must be completely cool before cutting otherwise you end up with odd shapes. I used the straight edge of my cutting scraper to get even cuts (that you scoop cut veggies etc with). The purpose of the potato starch is to keep the edges from sticking to everything. Go EASY as it masks the flavor of the mochi. I "spank" the excess off so they are very lightly covered. I've baked in both types (metal and glass) and prefer the pyrex as the edges don't get as hard. Plus the edges soften overnight and are fine to keep. I added a picture to show how lightly to coat and how neatly the shape turns out when you wait for it to cool (on the yellow plate). I also grew up in Hawaii and found this to beat out all my Hawaiian recipe books. Thanks for the post Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States