Chex®icago Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This chex mix is a sweet treat. Its more like poppycock rather than chex mix. But I made it and served it at a kid friendly party I had with some friends. Everyone loved it even and especially the adults! I made it in a disposable turkey roaster and put it in the oven instead of the microwave. I couldn't find chocolate chex mix so I added m&m's and threw marshmallows in it as well. I've had a few people ask me for this recipe since then. I'll definetly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly; delicious and very easy. A repeat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Kansas, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Making it as a Christmas munchie. Followed the directions exactly,but I couldn't find chocolate chex so I used Honey Nut instead. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for a New Years get together and it ways and absolute hit. I even added mini pretzels as an extra and I had many people ask me for the recipe !! GREAT TREAT FOR ANYTIME !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tootsie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very good, quick and easy to make gluten free (swap rice, cinnamon or honey nut chex for the wheat chex and leave out the cheese crackers). Also, if you want a laugh, change the quantity to 15 servings and it calls for 43 cups of chocolate chex! Wow!!! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
interesting snacking... it didn't last long. Had to sub some kinds of cereal as we don't have some of the suggested kinds in Canada. Used shreddies, chocolate mini shredded wheat, crispix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Dangerously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very good and easy! Love the sweet & salty combo. I did add about a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce to the sugar sauce and I think it was a great subtle addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
was a success but, so much to microwave! Popcorn got soggy. Next time i'll add nuts and leave out the popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This mix is amazing! I used Rice Chex instead of wheat because that's what we had. I think it needs the wheat for the different texture. Also next time I want to add buttered popcorn along with the cheese popcorn, to give it that real Chicago "Mixed popcorn tub" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States