Chex® Lemon Buddies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by alaska
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Flavor was good, but mine ended up a little soggy. Not the crispness you associate with Chex mix. Maybe I didn't let it cool all the way before packing? I thought I did, but the texture was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this with only one minor change and it's great! I was afraid it would be overwhelming-ly sweet...so, I added extra lemon zest to ours. No need to bake. Just let it cool and it's wonderful. My 10 year old LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Not sure that I will both attempting this recipe again :( which is a bummer b/c it sounded so good in concept. It was not nearly tart enough for my liking (even though I doubled the lemon juice). But worst of all, it was chewy instead of crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwchappy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The lemon flavor was very refreshing! I had the same problem as other reviewers with this tasting rather stale. After the first day (even with storing it in an air-tight container) this staleness just got worse. Make sure you serve this sometime when it will all be eaten at once! I did bake it as others recommended, and it was the very best right when it came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
They're okay, not worth the extra calories. But I did use corn chex instead of rice on accident. I brought it to school and people ate it, and they said they liked it, but I didn't believe them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate B
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious! I saw no need to bake it. I did reduce the time I microwaved the chips/butter mixture. 25 seconds on high, stir, then another 20 seconds on high and it was done. I would increase the grated lemon if you want a more zesty flavor. Otherwise it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I used the whole box of cereal, minus the crumbs/very broken bits (roughly 10 cups). Made as directed; they weren't soggy (probably because of the extra cereal) but the lemon flavour wasn't strong. After reading some of the top reviews, I noticed some mentioning that they baked it. So I baked them at 250F for 20mins, though I didn't stir them so the bottoms are crisp and light brown. After baking, the lemon flavour is stronger, but the chocolate less so. My recommendation is that if you use extra cereal you don't have to bake (use maybe an extra tsp. of zest) and if you use the amount of cereal in the recipe, and it seems a little soggy, bake (maybe use 1 1/2cups of chips and little less butter for a stronger chocolate flavour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
My Grandmother and mother have made chocolate versions of this for many many years, but this is the first year I have tried lemon. This recipe is SOO good. Perfect if lemon is something you really enjoy. I will be bringing this to my Mothers for christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
As a lover of all things lemon, this is already a favorite! It's well worth the bit of extra time to grate the lemon peel and squeeze the fresh juice. The zing of the lemon perfectly offset by the powdered sugar is amazing!! Didn't have any problem with sogginess. Initially, when I saw the melted ingredients, I thought it would be too thin and make them soggy. Perhaps let the melted ingredients cool off just a tad before mixing into the Chex?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
It was delicious, but had a stale-like texture. They didn't have the same texture as the Muddy Buddies. They turned out a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States