Chewy Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lpcookie
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly. The batter is thicker than a regular brownie batter, but I had no problem spreading it in the pan. I baked it for 35 min and turned out great. I melted choc chips on top. I like that it uses whole wheat flour - a little less carbs. My husband and I thought they were good, chewy, but not quite enough PB flavour. I think I would like to add PB chips to it next time. If you don't like a really sweet brownie, these are for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpcookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Better than a PB&J! I always use butter, and natural PB. The batter is thick, but they bake up moist and chewy. I loved that they weren't too sweet- a great alternative to a chocolate brownie, and one that the kids can eat more than one of without bouncing off the walls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I use a stick of margarine (1/2 C), 1/3 C white sugar, 1 C brown sugar, flour the same, but add approx 1/3 C combined of ground flax and wheat meal - to sneak in some more nutrients & make up for the extra buttery flavor! I like to experiment with recipes - this one has great "bones" and lends well to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I used crunchy natural peanut butter, white whole wheat flour, and flipped the sugars to use more brown sugar. I added a good dose of vanilla and threw in chocolate and peanut butter chips and baked in a 10 x 10 pan. They were eaten within a couple of days and more have been requested. Next time, I'll add a bit more PB and use all whole wheat flour and more peanut butter chips. *update* Made again and used all white whole wheat flour, 6 TBS butter, 1 TBSP vanilla, omitted the water, added an additional 1/4 c PB, and added chopped Snickers. Oh my! They are delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made these on Mother's Day & they were incredible, even my husband really liked them & he never likes sweet stuff like this. I made just a few tiny changes however. I made it a 1/2 cup of butter instead of the margarine, I made it a 1/2 cup of white sugar & a 1/2 cup of brown sugar & just white flour since that is what I had on hand. I frosted them as well but I think they would have been just as yummy without any. They were very chewy, sweet & moist ( like a brownie should be)...this is my first reveiw, I just had to say how great these were! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Good - not terribly sweet. I added chocolate chips, and feel this was essential - brownies wouldn't have been sweet at all without them. Nice, dense texture. I substituted almond extract for the vanilla, and wouldn't recommend this. The almond overpowered the natural peanut butter I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
these were ok. My brothers liked them but I don't think these had enough flavor. They also had this weird slide down your throat texture. I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I make the chewy peanut butter brownie recipe from this site all the time, and decided to try this one today. I actually like it more than the other. I think the wheat flour actually enhances the flavor. I was going to drizzle them with melted chocolate, and then my son asked it he could just dunk his in the chocolate, so we ended up dunking them instead of drizzling. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
amazing! superb! all i did was add white chocolate chips! even without them, this would have been to-die-for! definitely making again, in double batches :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erynotyuki
Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My husband tells me I "have permission" to make these every day. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States