Chewy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Perfect except this recipe lacks cream of tartar, which I always think of as the key to great snickerdoodles. I added a teaspoon and these cookies were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I've never been much of a cookie baker but these cookies are fabulous. They come out very chewy with a firm edge. I followed the recipe and, fortunately, did not have the watery or sticky dough experience like others did nor did I refrigerate the dough. I used vegan butter (dairy allergy) and pastry flour as opposed to regular flour so maybe that made a difference. I also used an electric hand mixer, but I used it on the lowest setting and intently watched the batter to make sure I wasn't over mixing. I baked for 9 minutes. Things to watch out for. These cookies SPREAD when they bake. I wasn't expecting them to spread so much and ended up having to gently pull some apart when they were done, but they came apart fine. They also are a little greasy. Other than that, loved these and they satisfied my cookie craving. Definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
It came out the consistency of cake batter, not dough. I double checked all my amounts. I put the batter into the fridge for a while in the hopes that maybe as it gets cold it'll harden up. But I don't have much hope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I followed everything and checked it one by one, and my cookies are completely flat and stuck on the tray right now. I didn't even have them in for the full 10 minutes... And they taste like egg yolk. I guess I still managed to mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Lloyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
My family and I love them. They are very good and can be rolled, dropped or spritz. I repeatedly caught my husband and son eating the dough when I turned my back to eat the dough without them seeing me. Ha ha ha ha ha. Margarine is pretty soft already and should be ready to use straight from the fridge. The recipe Doesn't say but I used butter that had been sitting out for about an hour or so. When the butter is too soft or has melted it will resemble cake mix and should be refrigerated until firm enough for desired cookie. If its sticky and wont roll in a ball put it in the fridge until it firms more. Overall Great Cookie Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
The flavor is unbelievable! But I used unsalted butter instead of Margarine, we do not like Margarine. (BLECK!) My other advice is to put a small amount of dough on the cookie sheet because they do spread out while baking. I put a ball of dough about 3/4in. round on the cookie sheet, flattened it down with the bottom of a glass, and ended up with cookies the size of my palm. Now if you're going for that size then by all means, but I was not. Happy baking!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Schultz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I used this recipe for my son's bake sale at school. Used shortening instead of butter, and they tasted great. Making another batch today with pumpkin spice mixed with sugar, for a kicked up snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Young

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetooth
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Great recipe! Made this on a whim today using half of all ingredients. Only adjustment I made was using 1.5 cups of flour. Dough was sticky, but did not need to chill it. Adding flour to my hands made it easy to form balls. There was no need to flatten balls as they spread out during baking. Would definitely save this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Great recipe! It's not the type of sugar cookies you can cut into different shapes, however it has the same flavour with extra chewiness. These stayed soft and delicious for days, and I made some snicker doodles out of them that are just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
These cookies were amazing. Crispy and thin and slightly chewy in the middle. Just the way I remembered sugar cookies. I put 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup of shortening. (Instead of the margarine ). Going to be my go to recipes for sugar cookies. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States