Chewy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe is perfect in both texture and sweetness. 10/10 would recommend! My friend and I added about 2 cups of chocolate chips for an extra boost and it was fabulous! Naughty, scrumptious, and decadent. . You will not regret making these tasty treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Andrew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I think the recipe should read 1 1/4 sticks of margarine not cups. My cookies ran all together and off the pan. Tried next pan with smaller blobs of dough further apart. Same thing happened. One and a quarter cups of butter is 2 and a half sticks. I had to throw everything away. Such a waste of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The taste was great. However, the dough was really thin and wouldn't firm up. I was not able to roll them into balls at all. So I used a spoon to make them into small dollops and placed them on the cookie sheet. Baked the for the allotted time and they deflated, were paper thin and broke into 1000 pieces when trying to remove them. I followed the directions and made sure not to over stir, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Needs to be cooked for 15 minutes with bigger cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
One little change makes this recipe a cookie that everyone will have hard time stopping from eating the whole plate. Change the margarine to shortening and be considered a bakery chef. Also, this change makes the dough a pleasure to work with vs. a sticky batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
These cookies are very good. They are tasty and chewy, but they wouldn't brown. Left them in 2 min.'s longer and even put the temp. to 375 and they still wouldn't brown..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kinder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
These were amazing! Small changes: 1) I used 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp of real almond extract. The almond extract was a GREAT addition, but not necessary. 2) I rolled them in vanilla sugar after making my first batch. Vanilla sugar can be made by placing dry vanilla beans (new or used) in a canister of sugar and allowing to sit at least a week. 3) I used real butter (half salted, and half unsalted because it was what I had). 4) I softened my butter, and apparently that is not necessary. The dough was almost too fragile to handle, but became easier to handle as it sat/cooled. 5) My balls were about the size of small limes, or donut holes - not walnuts. I could fit up to 7 balls on my round ceramic cookie/pizza stone. The cookies turned out BIG like at the fancy bakeries (made 28 BIG cookies). I baked them for about 12 minutes but began to watch them closely after 10 minutes. By far the BEST sugar cookies I have had - ever. I am sure they would be good w/ no changes at all to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
OH MY GOD!!! These were great! Thank you for posting these!!! These were the best cookies I have ever tried, and I'm not going to say 'yet'(excuse my punctuation) because I don't think any cookies are going to top these, let alone any other sugar cookies! They made a ton but they went down fast! Again, thanks for posting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
They are absolutely delicious my family and i couldn't get enough! but the only thing I was wondering was if you could decorate them with icing? and which icing would it be nice with?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Widdup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
for the folks with runny thin dough: if you use a tub margarine remember it has lots and lots of water in it. try using a stick margarine or just use real butter. that should take care of the messy thin dough and leave ya with a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Black

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States