Chewy Rolo Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This is the first time making these bars, but I am having trouble with the recipe. It says to use 1 package of yellow cake mix. Now, am I supposed to actually make the yellow cake mix according to the box/package that it comes in and then start following the Rolo recipe or only use the yellow cake mix powder itself and then start adding the nuts, butter and milk, etc.?? If anyone could give a hand, it would be greatly appreciated! Good Day and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I have not made these myself. My sis-in-law mentioned them to me and said they are DELICIOUS!!! I will be making them soon. Anyway, I wanted to post so that anyone making this recipe will not be confused. You do NOT make the cake per the box. You just add the butter and evap milk. Follow the recipe from there. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
These are very good bars. Even my husband's grandmother asked for the recipe. When she's impressed I know it's a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
I too was confused exactly how to make this recipe. I did not mix the cake mix with anything but the evaporated milk & melted butter. I changed it some too. I did not add the nuts and used a butter pecan cake mix instead of yellow (it was what I had on hand) (((next time I might try chocolate)). I also did not cook the first layer at all. I just layed it all and cooked it about 25 minutes total. It turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Excellent. I made it without nuts and added more rolos. Very easy and a big hit with all of my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2000
These were very good everyone liked them. the only part that was time consuming was cutting up the candy. Next time I might try chopping them in a food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
This was a quick recipe the kids loved as well as the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
These were very easy to make and tasty too! My family doesnt like nuts, so I left them out. The end result was a chewy chocolate and caramel bar with a bit of a crunch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
A hit everytime I make them! Mo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I have been asked for this recipe no less than 50 times. It's my go-to dessert recipe. Sooo delicious and easy! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States