Chewy Rolo Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are okay. I didn't have any rolos, but I used caramel filled Hershey Kisses, which are basically the same thing. Most of the flavor that you get is just boxed cake mix. Most of the caramel melts out of the candy and so you don't get a lot of that flavor. My kids did enjoy a few pieces in their lunches, but I most likely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Yummmmm! I made these with a Devil's Food cake mix and left out the nuts due to allergies. Also, used mini rolos to avoid having to cut them. So easy and they turned out fabulous! Tasted like a caramel brownie but with a devil's food flavor. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These turned out so hard, no one could eat them without breaking a tooth off . . . I think there is something incorrect in the cooking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I love everything about this recipe. 1) Requires few ingredients 2) Incredibly simple to make 3) Delicious! I think 25 min was a little too long (at least for my oven). Next time I'll check on them after 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I have made these a few times and they are always a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Made them for a family dinner and even the picky eaters loved them!! I have made it three times already! I have to hide the rolos from my dad cause he eats the rolos before i even make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I didn't have cake mix on hand (it was also too late to go to the store), and so I used a recipe I had for Homemade Yellow Cake Mix. Unfortunately these bars turned out more like a chocolate toffee cake than a cookie bar, but it tasted good all the same. I figure next time I'll actually try using store bought cake mix. If it still doesn't turn out as expected, I think I might just use the rolo's in place of choco chips in a Chocolate Chip cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Breau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
My niece Jessica made these for a dinner party as written and they turned out wonderful. Several of our family members are asking for them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
The best caramel brownie bar ever! This disappeared fater than anyother desert I have made for my DH. I bought a package of rolos thinking they were his fav. I was wrong, he doesn't even really like them. So, I was happy to try anything to use the bag. I made many changes so that I could use what I had at home. I had a chocolate cake mix and I didn't have any nuts and I used up all of the bag of rolos. YUM! It was the best caramel brownie type of bar. Next time I will make it for company so that I don't have a chance to eat half of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were OK for us. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the walnuts as I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States