Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe. However, after mixing and baking, and finally trying one, I realized something was missing. Salt. It may not seem like such a big deal to omit the salt, but it makes a big difference in the flavor. It will enhance it, and cut some of the sweetness out, so you can enjoy the other flavors. I would probably put about half a teaspoon in it. It will make a great difference in the cookie, I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Wow!!! . . . These are the best p.b. cookies I have ever made. I'm not a fan of cripy cookies and these turned out amazingly chewy and moist. I did add a couple extra things - 1/2 c. extra p.b., 1/2 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. vanilla - otherwise I followed the recipe (which was wonderfully simple) to a T. Will definately be making these again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth B. - South Carolina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I am always trying new peanut butter cookies, because I always seem to lose the ones I like. I made these, generous on the peanut butter (i usually add 1/4-1/3 c extra), and brought them to a teacher meeting. I expected to come home with some, but they were all gone by the end! I even got compliments on them at the next meeting! If you like them chewy, make sure to take them out of the oven once they are solidified but not brown yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Very easy and very tasty! If you substitute butter for the shortening and leave out the eggs, they taste like peanut butter shortbread. Very versatile recipe for all your peanut butter moods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is one of the best peanut butter cookies recipes out there. I added a little more peanut butter and the cookies came out perfect. The cookies will not appear done so be careful not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I used maragrine instead of shortening because I was out of shortening. Big mistake! I think this is the reason why my cookies turned out all thin and flat. Oops! They sure did taste good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
My family loved these cookies - I made a couple of changes (first by accident, and then because we like the cookies better this way), I added an extra egg, crunchy peanut butter, and additional flour. I live in Colorado so the flour could also be a high altitude adjustment. Either way -we love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
These cookies were delicious, but if you bake them a minute too long (or don't get the timer immediately), they get too crisp. Take the too crisp cookies and crush them up for a great pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blanding, Utah, USA
Living In: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Very easy recipe and straight forward. I don't think it could be any simpler than this. Everyone loved the cookies, however, they were a little crispier than I would like. I would have preferred a chewier cookie. Any ideas on how to get these cookies chewier using this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Very good & chewy. I found it easier to remove the cookies from the baking sheet if I let them cool for a few minutes first. Also, I was able to get around 4 dozen good size cookies from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE444

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States