Chewy Peanut Butter Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I made a couple of changes, though, to make it less cake-like and more brownie-like: I doubled the recipe and added one less egg and 1/3 cup less flour. I also added an extra 1/3 cup of peanut butter (and a few less tablespoons butter) and spread a thin layer of a chocolate glaze on top when it came out of the oven. It was a huge hit! I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
First, if you want these chewy and brownie-like DO NOT BEAT THE EGGS UNTIL THEY'RE FLUFFY that will only make it cake-like. In fact, don't use your mixer at all. Use a fork to mix together the butter and peanut butter, then mix in the sugars, then the egg and vanilla, and then the dry ingredients with a spoon. This will make them chewy and yummy like a real brownie! Great basic recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I should have trusted my instincts on these and used my own judgment rather than paying such close attention to all the reviewers who recommended a longer baking time. Do not overbake, or you'll end up with one, dry peanut butter brownie. Mine would have been perfect at 25 minutes, but I let it go another five. Having said that, they're good, with a nice peanut butter flavor--but with so many other recipes out there, I wouldn't call this a "must make again, to die for recipe." I frosted them with Chocolate Frosting I, which made them twice as good as they would have been otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Tastes like a peanut butter cake, moist and yummy! I added about 2/3 cup of chocolate chips and baked it in a 8x8 baking pan instead of 9x9. Very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
These are really yummy, especially with chocolate frosting. To double the recipe, I baked them in a 9x13 pan and lowered the temp to 325 (as was suggested by another reviewer) - they were more than ready in 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These brownies were amazing! My boyfriend hates chocolate, so I'm always trying to find desserts that don't have any in them. I made the recipe as is, but made a peanut butter icing in order to make it extra special! I used 2 cups of confectioners sugar, 2 tablespoons of milk, 2 teaspoons of corn syrup and 2 full tablespoons of peanut butter. It made the brownies sweeter (the way I like them) and added even more peanut butter flavor! I'll definitely be making these again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
LOVED THIS!!!!! Delicious is too small a word for it. I put peanut butter and milk chocolate chips all over the top and let them bake in. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Fantastic Brownies! This is quite a refreshing change from the usual chocolate brownies, and it was very enjoyable! It was easily made in about a hour for me, and even though I am not too fond of peanut butter, I couldn't stop eating these! I ended up baking my batch in an 8x8 pan, and baked it for an extra ten minutes because I really prefer chewy bownies! Quite a crowd pleaser! Thank you Jo! This will have a permanent spot in my recipe book! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
HELPFUL TIPS WHEN BAKING TO PREVENT HARD EDGES: I cover the pan with foil and with a knife... I cut out a big square in the middle so just 2" all around the edges is covered w/foil, so the edges are AS chewy as the middle. I double this recipe and it takes about 35-45 min to bake. I just wait for it to spring back as indicated and be a nice golden color (check the very center b/c that's where it will be gooey if not done). I add eyeball amount of chocolate chips on top before baking which I think is goodness. Or you can melt a chocolate glaze/frosting on top after it's done which also tastes delicious. I freeze the leftovers but definitely make double the amount using the suggestion of doubling all ingred. but adding 1/3C MORE pb, 2T LESS butter, and 1/3C LESS flour (so 1C + 2/3C). Excellent each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
These are awesome. I make them over and over and my room mates always ask for more. Even better than semi-sweet chocolate chips is just 2 Hershey bars broken up and placed on right after they come out of the oven. Then smear the chocolate all over when it melts. These are amazing and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States