Chewy Peanut Butter Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
These are gross! They are a bit too salty, not enough peanut butter, and over all just need to be revised. I love the idea that this recipe is easy, so I'm not completely knocking them. But if you want to make these add more peanut butter, less salt, and less baking powder!!!! I'm going to re-attempt to make these today and alternate the following ingredients. :) I made a fresh batch last night and 'tweaked' them; 3/4 cup of peanut butter,1/3 cup (stick butter) softened, 3/4 cup of white sugar, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1tsp of vanilla, 1 cup of flour, 1/2tsp of baking powder, and last but not least a PINCH of salt. I baked them in a 9x9 pan @350 for 25-30 minutes, let them cool and added a chocolate drizzle. Put them in a container and sat them on the counter over night with a concealed lid over them to keep them fresh. Tried one today and went back for a second one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Meh. The texture was a little weird to me, I can't really call it a brownie, or a cake, or a cookie. Wasn't an awful texture, just one I've never had before. The taste was just ok, these have a lot of sugar in them, but did not taste sweet. I used a no-stir natural crunchy peanut butter, that could be the reason maybe. I just wanted something different for dessert, and I've wanted to try this recipe and the Blonde Brownies I recipe from this site for a while. This one won since I had no chocolate chips on hand. While I thought these brownies were just so-so, a chocolate frosting helped. I used canned frosting spread over the warm brownies to melt like a glaze. I bet they would be good warm with ice cram and hot fudge(and banana, PB and banana...so good together!). They really do need some chocolate, but I might as well just make regular brownies with PB in them. I'll make these again, with some experimenting(nutella instead of PB or using less white sugar but upping brown sugar or maybe some mashed banana, or add chocolate chips or etc, etc, etc.... I always have these ingredients on hand, and they're easy to make, so definitely worth a do-over. Thank you for the recipe and for getting my creative cooking juices flowing! :) EDIT: I wasn't too happy with them yesterday, but, these taste way better the second day! I've upped this to 4 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
The texture is too cake like to really qualify as a proper brownie. I expect a brownie to be more chewy. The peanut butter flavor was also lacking. I would not make this two times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, but I wasn't expecting such a thick batter. The batter was more like cookie dough than brownie mix. I felt like it did not make a lot because I had to spread it pretty thin in the pan. I had to make them 24 hrs ahead of time and by the time I got to cutting them, they were really dry. Chewy, but too dry. More like cookie bars than brownies. Maybe I baked them too long? I will try this recipe again and do some things differently. They were a hit at the party I took them to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These are just so good. I made them twice in three days. I like to share them. I did decrease the white sugar to 1/2 cup. I made a simple peanut butter, powdered sugar and a little milk frosting for them. If you love peanut butter, you will certainly love these. Thank you Jo for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Easy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I love these brownies. I make them all the time. Sometimes I add chocolate chips or peanut butter chips, but they are always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edmore, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Easy to make and the family loves them. TIP: melt the peanut butter and butter together in a saucepan instead of creaming them. Very easy and turns out delicious. Also, mix in chocolate chips for the PB and choco combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
simple and amazing. might consider some chocolate icing next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
If you like peanut butter & brownies, you'll love these! I made them for a peanut-butter-loving friend and we finished 1/2 the (8x8) pan with our coffee. I froze the other 1/2 and they tasted just as good as the fresh ones when thawed after 3 weeks. I tried the foil around the outside edge of the pan, but don't recommend it because the center got browned nicely but the edges were anemic-looking. I haven't quit craving these, so I'll be making them again today...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States