Chewy Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Mine came out bland even though I added chocolate chips, coconut and sugar. I did have to add wee bit more flour (1/4 cup) because I live at a higher altitude, so the the consistency was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristol_the_pistol
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made some really tasty chocolate chip cookies the other day that my boyfriend and I loved! We wanted to try some oatmeal cookies so I used this recipe. I followed it to the "t" and the didn't turn out so hot. They taste great but they turned out to be flat pancakes stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These cookies had a great taste, and remained chewy even after 4 days. I made only a couple of changes. I used 1/4 cup coconut oil, and 1/2 cup softened butter. I increased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon, and could have used more. The batter was very thick, and even when baked didn't spread as I expected it to. This may be because I let them sit on the counter for a little over an hour before I baked them. This would give the dry ingredients more time to absorb the liquid. For the first pan, I flattened them a bit after they started baking because the dough was still in a ball after they were more than half baked. For the second pan, I flattened them before I put them into the oven. I baked them for 12 minutes to get them to brown a little. After they cooled, I put them into a plastic bag, and 4 days later they were still moist and chewy. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used Craisins and almonds! These are wonderful. Make 2 batches because the first one will be gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephaniienaomi
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I was bored and decided to bake cookies and I absolutely LOVE this recipe! They turned out exactly as I imagined them. I replaced the butter/shortening with margaring, only 1/2 cup of walnuts and 1 cup of dried cranberries instead of raisins! They turned out awesome. Definitely going to bake them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephaniienaomi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yummy! I used chocolate chips instead of nuts and raisins. I thought they cooked well and were easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent recipe. I add dark cocoa chips and a fresh grate of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
DELICIOUS! I give both this and my modified version 5 stars. I use these to increase breast milk when I nurse my little ones, but I add 1/2 cup flax meal and up the cinnamon and vanilla to 1 tablespoon and exchange the shortening for margarine. Add the walnuts and raisins as you like, or omit them all together. I prefer my oatmeal cookies naked. It's so good, I want to eat the dough! Speaking of, it helps to chill the batter some first (about 4 hours), so they don't spread out as much. Carol Bradley- you hit this one out of the park!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Edible, but nothing I would try to give to anyone. I wouldn't want them to think this was my recipe. Like an earlier review, mine spread out on the edges with a lump for a cookie in the center. Not the consistency of the photo that goes with this recipe. Will try a different cookie recipe to get a more consistent thickness with chewiness next time. Bummer I wasted the ingredients it took to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
OMG!! I made these cookies last week for a friend at works birthday since Oatmeal cookies are his favourite. Well he said these are the BEST he has ever tasted!! He would not even share them with the others we work with..LOL! I used butter instead of the flavoured shortening, and baked on parchment paper instead of greasing the cookie sheet, and had no trouble with the spreading that others reported. I also doubled the cinnamon because it just did not seem like 1/4 teaspoon would be enough. Since making them both my family and co-worker have asked me to make more....almost every day! This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pippi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kidderminster, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States