Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
These are the yummiest cookies ever! They taste like Mrs. Fields cookies. I didnt add the chocolate cuz' I just wanted raisins but the chewyness of the cookie is great! My husband is picky when it comes to cookies being chewy on the inside! These are by far the best cookies Ive made and eaten in a long time! YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMarcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good cookies!! I really liked the use of only one stick of butter. As to the baking time, as with ALL cookies, baking time will be effected by the size of your cookies, what kind of cookie sheet you use and how accurate your oven is, so don't really think that should be how you rate a recipe. I used a 1 tablespoon scoop, as opposed to a spoon, and got 60 cookies. I baked some on a dark, non-stick sheet and those only took 10 minutes. I made some on a shiny, "air" cookie sheet and those took 14 minutes to get brown but with either, the taste was GREAT!! I used orange essense cranberries and natural applesause and couldn't be more pleased with the taste and texture. These don't spread much, either, so kind of "patted" the scoop down a bit to get a flatter cookie. Definitely a good recipe for someone watching their fat and fiber!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I made these again and I measured everything perfectly and they turned out great. I suggest that if they seem a little uncooked in the middle, that you put them back in the oven for another minute or 2. So in my oven they are having to be cooked for a full 10 minutes. Also, I put twice the amount of chocolate chips. I and my kids still love them as much as the first time and I am taking them to a GRITS meeting tonight (Gals Raised In The South) so then I'll find out the true reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
These cookies are way to soft, they seem almost raw and sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I scoured all the reviews here, trying to figure out if these were really chewy- or cakey. Well, turns out they were cakey. I don't know how you would make them chewy- they do have applesauce in them, which to me means cakey! Besides that, they are very tasty, just not texture-wise what I was looking for. At least they're healthier than regular cookies. 1/2 cup butter for 35 cookies is great IMO. I'm thinking quick cook oats would have been better in these as well. Didn't change a thing except to add a little cinnamon, and had to cook them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were delicious. I made a few changes for a healthier version: 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup raw cane sugar, 1 cup wheat flour, 1/2 cup all purpose flour. I also replaced the butter with non-hydrogenated margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was looking for an alternative oatmeal raisin cookie containing applesauce and I'm pretty happy with this one. I omitted the chocolate chips and walnuts because I didn't have them and replace the white sugar with honey. I wound up baking them a lot longer than anticipated -- almost 18 minutes. They were slightly crunchy on the outside and wonderfully chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Tsui

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These were amazing! I changed the recipe slightly by adding slightly less sugar, 3 egg whites, 2 1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup wheat germ, and decreased the butter by 3 Tlb. Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Mmmmmm... These turned out really yummy. They mixed up very nicely. I used cinnamon applesauce and omitted the walnuts and upped both the raisins and chocolate chips 1/4 cup each. I baked them at 360 for 13 minutes on airbake sheets and this seemed just right. My oven seems to run cooler. I did forget to grease the sheets first and didn't realize my error until all sheets were covered w/ dough but still managed to get them off with a thin metal spatula. I will make these many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
These were pretty good. As another mentioned, you should keep them in for the full 10 minutes because I took my first batch out after 8-9 minutes and the insides weren't fully cooked. Try to look for a browning on the bottom before removing. Also, I didn't care much for the walnuts in there so I think I'll increase the chocolate chips and raisins next time while losing the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States