Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Chewy, sweet, moist, and delicious! My toughest critic even gave them 5 stars. Be sure to cook until nicely brown all over and not just on the edges. Brown just on the edges gave an almost doughy cookie. Tinted brown all over was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I wasn't impressed. I followed the recipe exactly and they weren't chewy at all! There was way more flour taste than oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These were fabulous! Texture was perfect and flavor was excellent. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wernersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great cookies. I made them with Splenda brown sugar and Splenda sugar for my diabetic son. They came out light and fluffy which my husband loves about them besides the taste. A win-win for all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I scoured all the reviews here, trying to figure out if these were really chewy- or cakey. Well, turns out they were cakey. I don't know how you would make them chewy- they do have applesauce in them, which to me means cakey! Besides that, they are very tasty, just not texture-wise what I was looking for. At least they're healthier than regular cookies. 1/2 cup butter for 35 cookies is great IMO. I'm thinking quick cook oats would have been better in these as well. Didn't change a thing except to add a little cinnamon, and had to cook them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My husband loves this recipe.He brought them to work and now the guys are all bugging him for more cookies.They turned out more like cake than chewy.I don't like raisins so I put cranberries and pumpkin seeds in mine......yummie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by texsara
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I just made these cookies exactly as directed in recipe,& they are fantastic! I have never made cookies from scratch this perfect. They are delicious with a cold glass of light soy milk (Silk).I don't usually care for raisins but they are healthy & go perfect in this. I made these in a toaster oven on a dark cookie sheet because my big oven is broken,& they still baked perfect. I did notice the bottoms were browning & tops weren't quite done so I turned the heat down to 300 & cooked for five more minutes..worked great! They are chewy & delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I have been looking for a chewy oatmeal recipe for a while. I can't wait to bake some for my granddaughters when they come to visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texsara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Pretty darn good! Was just looking for a way to use up some extra applesauce and because it was already 7:30 pm I was looking for something that I could make QUICKLY for my family for a late night snack. These totally fit the bill. I was out of raisins and nuts so had to leave those out; made half of the batch plain and the other half with the full 1/2 c of chocolate chips - super chewy and yummy either way. I made sure to bake these for 8 minutes - then checked back every 30 seconds beyond that till I felt they were ready to pull out (that's how I bake all my cookies b/c we live in CO where things dry out QUICKLY). TY for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
divine!! i left out the raisins and nuts due to an allergy. next time i may use a little less sugar. They are soft, chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I was looking for an oatmeal cookie so I omitted the last 3 ingredients...they were so nice and chewy...love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States