Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
These were ok. I ended up making them slightly larger, 30 cookies instead of 36, and cooking them for 13 minutes for fear that they wouldn't be cooked enough pursuant to other readers' comments, and they were cooked a bit too mutch. Not very chewy, more cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura_lee_76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
If you grease the cookie sheets the cookeis spread out too far, though they do remain chewy. I would not make this recipe again, there are far better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Bateman Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These were amazing! I changed the recipe slightly by adding slightly less sugar, 3 egg whites, 2 1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup wheat germ, and decreased the butter by 3 Tlb. Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Mmmmmm... These turned out really yummy. They mixed up very nicely. I used cinnamon applesauce and omitted the walnuts and upped both the raisins and chocolate chips 1/4 cup each. I baked them at 360 for 13 minutes on airbake sheets and this seemed just right. My oven seems to run cooler. I did forget to grease the sheets first and didn't realize my error until all sheets were covered w/ dough but still managed to get them off with a thin metal spatula. I will make these many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These cookies were perfect! I made them for my son's daycare, so I went light on the sugar and upped the applesauce a bit. I also substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour. I read the reviews first, so I carefully checked the cookies before taking them out of the oven. I cooked them for 11 minutes, and I got lots of compliments on these. Oh yeah-- since these were made for toddlers, I left out the nuts and added a sprinkling of butterscotch chips and just used more raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janaasher
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white flour, cut out the nuts, and used 3/4 c raisins and 3/4 c chocolate chips (certified nut free). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaasher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These were ok. They didnt spread out, but cooked perfectly in 10 minutes. I also added some mollassas for the sugar and cinnamon for flavor. they were a little dry after the first day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good cookies!! I really liked the use of only one stick of butter. As to the baking time, as with ALL cookies, baking time will be effected by the size of your cookies, what kind of cookie sheet you use and how accurate your oven is, so don't really think that should be how you rate a recipe. I used a 1 tablespoon scoop, as opposed to a spoon, and got 60 cookies. I baked some on a dark, non-stick sheet and those only took 10 minutes. I made some on a shiny, "air" cookie sheet and those took 14 minutes to get brown but with either, the taste was GREAT!! I used orange essense cranberries and natural applesause and couldn't be more pleased with the taste and texture. These don't spread much, either, so kind of "patted" the scoop down a bit to get a flatter cookie. Definitely a good recipe for someone watching their fat and fiber!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
These are the yummiest cookies ever! They taste like Mrs. Fields cookies. I didnt add the chocolate cuz' I just wanted raisins but the chewyness of the cookie is great! My husband is picky when it comes to cookies being chewy on the inside! These are by far the best cookies Ive made and eaten in a long time! YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMarcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Absolutely the best oatmeal cookie I have ever made! The cookies are chewy and tasty...mmmm, mmmm good! Definitely leave them in for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States