Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I gave these 4 stars because I think they have a great flavor and would probably have a better texture had I followed the recipe to the letter. I was wanting to make a healthy cookie, so I made the following changes: 1c. whole wheat flour & 1/2c. all-purpose. For sweetness I used 1/3c. brown sugar, 1/3c.sucanat & 1/3c. honey. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon, increased raisins to 1c. and omitted chocolate chips & nuts. The dropped cookies of the 1st batch didn't spread out when baked, so I pushed them down with the back of a spoon for the remaining batches, but that made them too crumbly. The 1st batch actually held together better. I will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I took the advice of other reviewers and baked my first two sheets of cookies longer than stated on the recipe. They were overcooked and not chewy at all. My final sheet of cookies was put in for 8 minutes and turned out perfectly. I would recommend that you put the cookies in and watch for when the edges start turning brown but are still a little shiny on top - that way they set up but are still chewy. I added 1/2 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp ground cinnamon, omitting the chocolate chips, because I like my oatmeal cookies with some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really moist and yummy~ The kids were eating them faster then I could cook them~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These cookies were amazing. My family and daycare kids loved them. I had to cook them for 15 minutes instead of 10 minutes but other wise perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I added both chocolate and butterscotch chips to it and it was great. My husband doesn't like nuts and I didn't have any raisins so I didn't add those things, but I think that the choc. chips, raisins and nuts would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were delicious. I made a few changes for a healthier version: 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup raw cane sugar, 1 cup wheat flour, 1/2 cup all purpose flour. I also replaced the butter with non-hydrogenated margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I added cinnamon and replaced the raisins with dried cherries. This recipe is very dry and not at all "chewy"... Very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberger

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
These cookies are good, I didn't think they were chewy, though. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. allspice, 1/2 tsp. cloves, 1/2 c. prunes, a full c. of golden raisins, omitted the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTMAMMACOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These are pretty good cookies. The only alterations I made was adding a little cinnamon and used egg substitute. I also didn't have any chocolate chips...I will use next time to help with the sweetness factor. Cookies also didn't spread out at all, definitely had to cook for 12 minutes. But they still taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Wont make this recipe again. Maybe using the quick oats would make it taste better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosannaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States