Chewy No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I thought these turned out fairly good. If you like Quaker oatmeal packaged granola bars you will like these. I left out the dried fruit, but think they would have been good with raisins. I used an equivalent amount of extra rolled oats, for the steel cut, to avoid a trip to the store. It worked fine. I thought the half a cup of mini chocolate chips was a bit much, as these were plenty sweet already. I consider them more of a sweet then a health food. However, I feel that way about most all store bought granola bars also that, taste just like this. A hint for the chocolate chips is to freeze them to avoid melting if mixing in. Stir in the syrup well and let the mix cool down pretty well and add them in. I am not sure how they would have stuck to the top, as suggested. After the refridgerating, I worked hard to cut them into the 24 servings suggested and about 80% of them came out without much breaking, as they are very chewy and flexible. Although, not traditional as a square a different cut might hold better. I wasn't sure how to store these, as the directions didn't make any suggestions on that. I bagged them individually and stored in the fridge. It seemed to work good. I only wish now I had some kids to test these on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Dana these are soooooo good! the mixture did seem a little dry to me so i added a little maple syrup an it did the trick! I used what i had on hand nuts,dried cheeries,coconut and chocolate chips! To make it alot easier line yoyr pan with wax paper or foil that way they come out of the pan alot easier!!! I will make these alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Very tasty! I used 1cup cashews instead of the fruit and almonds. I find they fall apart a bit (maybe I didn't cook the sugar long enough) but the flavor is great. Also, the chocolate chips ended up melting all over because I tried packing them in when the mixture was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOCOMARIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This hands down is the best granola bar recipe I have ever made. There are endless possibilities (chocolate chips and almonds, craisins and white chocolate chips, cinnamon and raisin... you name it!), and it's so easy to make. I, too, had to experiment with the issue of them falling apart when made as directed, and I found 2 things. If you cook the mixture exactly as directed (until the sugar is dissolved), they will fall apart unless they are refrigerated. I experimented with a few different ways, and here's a simple improvement to keep them together better (even out of the refrigerator). I used 3 tablespoons of butter (a tablespoon less than called for) and 3 tablespoons of honey (again, a tablespoon less) with the 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Instead of simply melting, I let it boil at a rolling boil for about 2 minutes (my candy thermometer is broken, but I'd guess it was about to the soft ball stage). It doesn't change the taste at all, but it does help it to stick together better. I also put my chocolate chips on top and waited until they melted, then spread them around. That way it also helps to hold together better as well as to evenly distribute the chocolate. As far as storing goes, as soon as I'm able, I cut them into bars (lengthwise I cut it in half, then width-wise I cut it into about 8 sections, making 16 bars for a 9x13 pan) then put each bar into a snack-sized zipper baggie. Perfect for lunches and snacking on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is my 2nd time making these, and they are delicious!! This is a wonderful base recipe that goes together super quick, and is chewy & delicious. First version I made, I added a mashed up banana to the wet ingredients (I did have to process the liquid to make it smooth) and used walnuts and chocolate chips in the bars - tastes like a chocolate covered banana, and still works out to just 134 calories per serving! Tonight, I made a peanut butter version - subbing 1/4 c peanut butter for the butter, and I used agave nectar in place of the honey because we were out. I also added a little less than 1/2 c of flaxseed to the dry ingredients. I stuck with the 1/2 c walnuts and about 1/3 c chocolate chips pressed into the top after the mixture was transferred to the pan. They're not quite cool yet, but boy, did my little nibble taste yummy! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I've found this on several blogs lately and it's our go to recipe for quick and easy granola bars. I have found we like 1/4-1/3 cup brown sugar to be better, as they are too sweet otherwise. Also, you have to press these in pretty darn good so they stick together. AND the best way to make them stay firm is to refrigerate...otherwise they do tend to break easily, which I don't mind but my bf doesn't care for crumbling bars. :) It's fun to mix up the nuts/fruit/chocolate, or eliminate all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I make these often. I have found that mixing the 2 oats and the nuts together and toasting them for 10-15 minutes in a 350*F oven gives them a nice toasty taste. I also sometimes substitute 1/2 cup maple syrup for the brown sugar quite often. The syrup seems to help them stay together rather than crumble. and use dried cranberries and white chips. These are a family favorite. It's a great recipe that really lends itself to lots or variations! Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Hi - While I loved bulk of this recipe, I also had the problem of the bars just not sticking together. They will turn into granola when you try to cut them. So, I used brown rice syrup in place of the butter, brown sugar, AND honey. Trust me, you don't need any of those ingredients if you use the brown rice syrup (about 1/2 cup of it). Also, if you want a mocha bar, add instant coffee - delicious. They will take just like Kashi Mochoa Almond Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
We have loved this recipe! As is, it is great! (I do double the recipe to make the bars thicker in my 9x13 pan.) To adjust to our tastes, I've made the following changes to Dana's recipe. (And some of these have been suggested in other reviews.) I've cut the brown sugar to 1/3 cup and the chocolate chips to 1/4 cup. Sometimes I will omit the chocolate chips and then increase the fruit to 3/4 cup. One reviewer mentioned switching the butter for peanut butter. I am anxious to try this one but haven't had an opportunity since I have one child that doesn't like nuts. Another reviewer mentioned cooking the butter, honey, and brown sugar for 2 minutes at a rolling boil. I found this very helpful. It brings the sugar to somewhere between the soft ball and hard ball stage which keeps it from falling apart too much. I also put parchment paper on the bottom of my 9x13 pan. After pressing the mixture into the pan and while it is still warm, I cut the granola into bars. Then I put it in the fridge to harden. After it is cool, I pull it out, break the bars along the cut lines, and then put in sandwich bags so that they are ready to grab for lunches or snacks. As the bars get warm, they can sometimes fall apart slightly. But I think this is partially because of the lower sugar amount. No matter, our whole family loves these! Thanks for a great recipe, Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made these for the first time last night and really enjoyed them. They are a savior for me as store-bought ones, which are filled with high fructose corn syrup and random other garbage, make me really sick. The best thing is that they're chewy! And since they don't require use of the oven, I can make them all summer without worrying about overheating my apartment. I use whatever I have on hand, so in this batch I didn't use rolled oats, but I added cinnamon just for fun. Also the next time I make it I might use 1/3c brown sugar. 1/2 wasn't a crazy amount, but I'd just like to use a wee bit less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States