Chewy No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Very tasty! I used 1cup cashews instead of the fruit and almonds. I find they fall apart a bit (maybe I didn't cook the sugar long enough) but the flavor is great. Also, the chocolate chips ended up melting all over because I tried packing them in when the mixture was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOCOMARIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Dana these are soooooo good! the mixture did seem a little dry to me so i added a little maple syrup an it did the trick! I used what i had on hand nuts,dried cheeries,coconut and chocolate chips! To make it alot easier line yoyr pan with wax paper or foil that way they come out of the pan alot easier!!! I will make these alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is my 2nd time making these, and they are delicious!! This is a wonderful base recipe that goes together super quick, and is chewy & delicious. First version I made, I added a mashed up banana to the wet ingredients (I did have to process the liquid to make it smooth) and used walnuts and chocolate chips in the bars - tastes like a chocolate covered banana, and still works out to just 134 calories per serving! Tonight, I made a peanut butter version - subbing 1/4 c peanut butter for the butter, and I used agave nectar in place of the honey because we were out. I also added a little less than 1/2 c of flaxseed to the dry ingredients. I stuck with the 1/2 c walnuts and about 1/3 c chocolate chips pressed into the top after the mixture was transferred to the pan. They're not quite cool yet, but boy, did my little nibble taste yummy! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
So yummy! Everyone in my family devoured them! I recommend keeping them in the fridge because they get crumbly when warm. I crushed up some dried bananas to add to the fruit mixture, and added some flax seed. It's a great recipe because you could add just about anything! Next batch I'll try almond extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe, but I found that it came out very crumbly. I will try making this again thoug. Cooking the sugar mixture a bit longer and adding maple syrup will hopefully make them stick together a bit better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I thought these turned out fairly good. If you like Quaker oatmeal packaged granola bars you will like these. I left out the dried fruit, but think they would have been good with raisins. I used an equivalent amount of extra rolled oats, for the steel cut, to avoid a trip to the store. It worked fine. I thought the half a cup of mini chocolate chips was a bit much, as these were plenty sweet already. I consider them more of a sweet then a health food. However, I feel that way about most all store bought granola bars also that, taste just like this. A hint for the chocolate chips is to freeze them to avoid melting if mixing in. Stir in the syrup well and let the mix cool down pretty well and add them in. I am not sure how they would have stuck to the top, as suggested. After the refridgerating, I worked hard to cut them into the 24 servings suggested and about 80% of them came out without much breaking, as they are very chewy and flexible. Although, not traditional as a square a different cut might hold better. I wasn't sure how to store these, as the directions didn't make any suggestions on that. I bagged them individually and stored in the fridge. It seemed to work good. I only wish now I had some kids to test these on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I've found this on several blogs lately and it's our go to recipe for quick and easy granola bars. I have found we like 1/4-1/3 cup brown sugar to be better, as they are too sweet otherwise. Also, you have to press these in pretty darn good so they stick together. AND the best way to make them stay firm is to refrigerate...otherwise they do tend to break easily, which I don't mind but my bf doesn't care for crumbling bars. :) It's fun to mix up the nuts/fruit/chocolate, or eliminate all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These are delicious!!! You can change the ingredients up however you like. I used coaches oats, special K, multigrain Cheerios, raisins and wheat germ. As long as the total amount of dry ingredients is the same as what the recipe calls for, they turn out great! You can even swap out the honey for corn syrup if that's all you have. (I did) Better than any chewy granola bar I have ever bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed this recipe exact only I used half Craisins/half raisins for the dried fruit (that was all I had on hand) and I left out the chocolate chips. These are delicious! The kids kept asking for another after they'd had the first one and my husband thought they were quite good "for a granola bar".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
The syrup recipe echoes my ancient Betty Crocker caramel corn recipe exactly, and that covers 6 cups of popcorn and sets up IF AND ONLY IF it is allowed to boil to the soft-ball stage. I used Quaker multigrain cereal (like oatmeal but with more grains), steel-cut oats (I was leery of these uncooked but they worked!), Rice Crispies, 2 kinds of dried apples, walnuts, butter pecan pancake syrup in place of the honey and cinnamon chips (which I can only find in the fall, just before the holidays). Coworkers and my husband loved them. I'm planning on dried cherries, almonds and dark chocolate chips, and mixed dried fruit, macadamias and white chocolate chips. UPDATE: I've tried both of the other versions I mentioned and they were fantastic. This recipe lends itself to SO MANY variations! Making more tonight...I'll see what I have in the pantry...gonna try using instant coffee as someone suggested to make mocha bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States