Chewy No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Hi - While I loved bulk of this recipe, I also had the problem of the bars just not sticking together. They will turn into granola when you try to cut them. So, I used brown rice syrup in place of the butter, brown sugar, AND honey. Trust me, you don't need any of those ingredients if you use the brown rice syrup (about 1/2 cup of it). Also, if you want a mocha bar, add instant coffee - delicious. They will take just like Kashi Mochoa Almond Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Yummy! I microwaved the wet ingredients in a glass bowl for 1.5 minutes instead of melting them over the stove and them poured it over the dry stuff. That worked well and made clean up a little easier too. I didn't have any dried fruit or almonds. I used pecans as for the nuts. Next time, I'll try this with cut up strawberry banana fruit roll ups. Oh, and I lined my pan with parchment paper. The granola is so much easier to deal with that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My family gobbled these up. Definitely quick and easy...although, the honey flavor was strong! I think I'll cut that and maybe the vanilla both in half next time. Hopefully they will still hold together. OH, and they have to STAY in the fridge or they turn into just really sticky granola! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I loved these!! I didn't have the crispy rice cereal, so I just used a half cup more of each kind of oats. It turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
They taste great but fall apart. Ended up using them as a granola cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I tried this recipe twice and it completely crumbled and fell apart both times. Tastes great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
The syrup recipe echoes my ancient Betty Crocker caramel corn recipe exactly, and that covers 6 cups of popcorn and sets up IF AND ONLY IF it is allowed to boil to the soft-ball stage. I used Quaker multigrain cereal (like oatmeal but with more grains), steel-cut oats (I was leery of these uncooked but they worked!), Rice Crispies, 2 kinds of dried apples, walnuts, butter pecan pancake syrup in place of the honey and cinnamon chips (which I can only find in the fall, just before the holidays). Coworkers and my husband loved them. I'm planning on dried cherries, almonds and dark chocolate chips, and mixed dried fruit, macadamias and white chocolate chips. UPDATE: I've tried both of the other versions I mentioned and they were fantastic. This recipe lends itself to SO MANY variations! Making more tonight...I'll see what I have in the pantry...gonna try using instant coffee as someone suggested to make mocha bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed this recipe exact only I used half Craisins/half raisins for the dried fruit (that was all I had on hand) and I left out the chocolate chips. These are delicious! The kids kept asking for another after they'd had the first one and my husband thought they were quite good "for a granola bar".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These are delicious!!! You can change the ingredients up however you like. I used coaches oats, special K, multigrain Cheerios, raisins and wheat germ. As long as the total amount of dry ingredients is the same as what the recipe calls for, they turn out great! You can even swap out the honey for corn syrup if that's all you have. (I did) Better than any chewy granola bar I have ever bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I've found this on several blogs lately and it's our go to recipe for quick and easy granola bars. I have found we like 1/4-1/3 cup brown sugar to be better, as they are too sweet otherwise. Also, you have to press these in pretty darn good so they stick together. AND the best way to make them stay firm is to refrigerate...otherwise they do tend to break easily, which I don't mind but my bf doesn't care for crumbling bars. :) It's fun to mix up the nuts/fruit/chocolate, or eliminate all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States