Chewy No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We did not like this .... these bars have a bird-seedy type of texture. Just not for us....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for! Love it!! I ended up using coco puffs cereal since it was what I had on hand and they turned out great. I found too that putting the bars in a pan with low edges, like a cookie sheet with edges, that I can use a heavy rolling pin to help press them together. I find I still have to keep them in the refrigerator and that helps them not fall apart as well. Flavor, texture and consistency was great. Look forward to making these often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This hands down is the best granola bar recipe I have ever made. There are endless possibilities (chocolate chips and almonds, craisins and white chocolate chips, cinnamon and raisin... you name it!), and it's so easy to make. I, too, had to experiment with the issue of them falling apart when made as directed, and I found 2 things. If you cook the mixture exactly as directed (until the sugar is dissolved), they will fall apart unless they are refrigerated. I experimented with a few different ways, and here's a simple improvement to keep them together better (even out of the refrigerator). I used 3 tablespoons of butter (a tablespoon less than called for) and 3 tablespoons of honey (again, a tablespoon less) with the 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Instead of simply melting, I let it boil at a rolling boil for about 2 minutes (my candy thermometer is broken, but I'd guess it was about to the soft ball stage). It doesn't change the taste at all, but it does help it to stick together better. I also put my chocolate chips on top and waited until they melted, then spread them around. That way it also helps to hold together better as well as to evenly distribute the chocolate. As far as storing goes, as soon as I'm able, I cut them into bars (lengthwise I cut it in half, then width-wise I cut it into about 8 sections, making 16 bars for a 9x13 pan) then put each bar into a snack-sized zipper baggie. Perfect for lunches and snacking on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Hi - While I loved bulk of this recipe, I also had the problem of the bars just not sticking together. They will turn into granola when you try to cut them. So, I used brown rice syrup in place of the butter, brown sugar, AND honey. Trust me, you don't need any of those ingredients if you use the brown rice syrup (about 1/2 cup of it). Also, if you want a mocha bar, add instant coffee - delicious. They will take just like Kashi Mochoa Almond Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Yummy! I microwaved the wet ingredients in a glass bowl for 1.5 minutes instead of melting them over the stove and them poured it over the dry stuff. That worked well and made clean up a little easier too. I didn't have any dried fruit or almonds. I used pecans as for the nuts. Next time, I'll try this with cut up strawberry banana fruit roll ups. Oh, and I lined my pan with parchment paper. The granola is so much easier to deal with that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My family gobbled these up. Definitely quick and easy...although, the honey flavor was strong! I think I'll cut that and maybe the vanilla both in half next time. Hopefully they will still hold together. OH, and they have to STAY in the fridge or they turn into just really sticky granola! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I loved these!! I didn't have the crispy rice cereal, so I just used a half cup more of each kind of oats. It turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
They taste great but fall apart. Ended up using them as a granola cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I tried this recipe twice and it completely crumbled and fell apart both times. Tastes great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
The syrup recipe echoes my ancient Betty Crocker caramel corn recipe exactly, and that covers 6 cups of popcorn and sets up IF AND ONLY IF it is allowed to boil to the soft-ball stage. I used Quaker multigrain cereal (like oatmeal but with more grains), steel-cut oats (I was leery of these uncooked but they worked!), Rice Crispies, 2 kinds of dried apples, walnuts, butter pecan pancake syrup in place of the honey and cinnamon chips (which I can only find in the fall, just before the holidays). Coworkers and my husband loved them. I'm planning on dried cherries, almonds and dark chocolate chips, and mixed dried fruit, macadamias and white chocolate chips. UPDATE: I've tried both of the other versions I mentioned and they were fantastic. This recipe lends itself to SO MANY variations! Making more tonight...I'll see what I have in the pantry...gonna try using instant coffee as someone suggested to make mocha bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States