Chewy No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
We have loved this recipe! As is, it is great! (I do double the recipe to make the bars thicker in my 9x13 pan.) To adjust to our tastes, I've made the following changes to Dana's recipe. (And some of these have been suggested in other reviews.) I've cut the brown sugar to 1/3 cup and the chocolate chips to 1/4 cup. Sometimes I will omit the chocolate chips and then increase the fruit to 3/4 cup. One reviewer mentioned switching the butter for peanut butter. I am anxious to try this one but haven't had an opportunity since I have one child that doesn't like nuts. Another reviewer mentioned cooking the butter, honey, and brown sugar for 2 minutes at a rolling boil. I found this very helpful. It brings the sugar to somewhere between the soft ball and hard ball stage which keeps it from falling apart too much. I also put parchment paper on the bottom of my 9x13 pan. After pressing the mixture into the pan and while it is still warm, I cut the granola into bars. Then I put it in the fridge to harden. After it is cool, I pull it out, break the bars along the cut lines, and then put in sandwich bags so that they are ready to grab for lunches or snacks. As the bars get warm, they can sometimes fall apart slightly. But I think this is partially because of the lower sugar amount. No matter, our whole family loves these! Thanks for a great recipe, Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Easy and fast, but too sweet for my taste and falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very sweet! I would cut the sugar in the future. Taste is spot-on! (I added a pinch of salt) Also, came out crumby- all my "bars" fell apart, not sure if a thermometer is needed for a harder candy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
We like our bars really chewy, so I made this and added a tablespoon of real maple syrup. I omitted the fruit and nuts, and just made them with mini chips, since I am not much of a fruit and granola type of person. We were eating the stuff like it was candy, it's so good! I was actually disappointed after we put the chips in, because I just wanted to eat it plain again. And now I am a convert! I was dying to try them with raisins or craisins or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made these for the first time last night and really enjoyed them. They are a savior for me as store-bought ones, which are filled with high fructose corn syrup and random other garbage, make me really sick. The best thing is that they're chewy! And since they don't require use of the oven, I can make them all summer without worrying about overheating my apartment. I use whatever I have on hand, so in this batch I didn't use rolled oats, but I added cinnamon just for fun. Also the next time I make it I might use 1/3c brown sugar. 1/2 wasn't a crazy amount, but I'd just like to use a wee bit less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We did not like this .... these bars have a bird-seedy type of texture. Just not for us....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for! Love it!! I ended up using coco puffs cereal since it was what I had on hand and they turned out great. I found too that putting the bars in a pan with low edges, like a cookie sheet with edges, that I can use a heavy rolling pin to help press them together. I find I still have to keep them in the refrigerator and that helps them not fall apart as well. Flavor, texture and consistency was great. Look forward to making these often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This hands down is the best granola bar recipe I have ever made. There are endless possibilities (chocolate chips and almonds, craisins and white chocolate chips, cinnamon and raisin... you name it!), and it's so easy to make. I, too, had to experiment with the issue of them falling apart when made as directed, and I found 2 things. If you cook the mixture exactly as directed (until the sugar is dissolved), they will fall apart unless they are refrigerated. I experimented with a few different ways, and here's a simple improvement to keep them together better (even out of the refrigerator). I used 3 tablespoons of butter (a tablespoon less than called for) and 3 tablespoons of honey (again, a tablespoon less) with the 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Instead of simply melting, I let it boil at a rolling boil for about 2 minutes (my candy thermometer is broken, but I'd guess it was about to the soft ball stage). It doesn't change the taste at all, but it does help it to stick together better. I also put my chocolate chips on top and waited until they melted, then spread them around. That way it also helps to hold together better as well as to evenly distribute the chocolate. As far as storing goes, as soon as I'm able, I cut them into bars (lengthwise I cut it in half, then width-wise I cut it into about 8 sections, making 16 bars for a 9x13 pan) then put each bar into a snack-sized zipper baggie. Perfect for lunches and snacking on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Hi - While I loved bulk of this recipe, I also had the problem of the bars just not sticking together. They will turn into granola when you try to cut them. So, I used brown rice syrup in place of the butter, brown sugar, AND honey. Trust me, you don't need any of those ingredients if you use the brown rice syrup (about 1/2 cup of it). Also, if you want a mocha bar, add instant coffee - delicious. They will take just like Kashi Mochoa Almond Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Yummy! I microwaved the wet ingredients in a glass bowl for 1.5 minutes instead of melting them over the stove and them poured it over the dry stuff. That worked well and made clean up a little easier too. I didn't have any dried fruit or almonds. I used pecans as for the nuts. Next time, I'll try this with cut up strawberry banana fruit roll ups. Oh, and I lined my pan with parchment paper. The granola is so much easier to deal with that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States