Chewy No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe several times this summer and my family likes them better than store bought granola bars. I freeze my chocolate chips when I start measuring my ingredients and stir them in at the end. I store them in the fridge as they do fall apart when at room temperature. We use metal cookie cutters to make the bars into different shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
These are good but definitely not a healthier version of the store bought we want to imitate with all the added sugar. You may as well buy the prepackaged ones. I don't use the sugars listed or the butter. Instead, I use about half a cup of brown rice syrup and 1/3 - 1/2 cup natural peanut butter to hold them together. Yes it provides a small amount of sugar and the peanut butter gives it flavor and helps them bond into a more stable bar. I also don't put dried fruit in but I have at times. I add a combination of coconut, almonds, pecans walnuts and pumpkin seeds as well as a tablespoon or two of ground flax for omega 3's and fiber. Cinnamon also makes a nice addition to the flavor with the nuts. After placing them in the baking dish and before placing them in the refrigerator to set up, I melt half a bag of dark chocolate morsels on top in the oven for 2 - 3 minutes for sweetness. When I take the bars out I then spread the melted chips in a thin layer of chocolate over the entire batch. It helps hold them together and provides a nice touch for the sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This tasted good and, after refrigerated, had a nice texture. I'm not sure the steel cut oats were necessary, more rolled oats might have been nicer. (The steel cut oats are pricey and didn't really soften.) I was surprised at how thin the bars were, I would probably make them in a 9 in square pan next time. I made the mistake of adding chocolate chips with the oats, and when the butter mixture was poured over, they all melted and we got chocolate granola bars -- they taste delicious, but we were trying to make "chocolate chip-craisin" bars. I made them for a lunch box treat, and I'm somewhat concerned about how they'll fare (texture-wise) at room temperature. I would probably make them again, but I'll still be looking around for something closer to what I imagined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I made these following the recipe and they are really good! I had never seen steel cut oats used uncooked, but they add a nice texture and flavor. The bars need to be refigerated or else they're messy. I didn't give the recipe a 5star cause I think they are a little soft. My 3 boys love them!! Great for the lunchbox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val's Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I use this as my go to granola bar recipe all the time. My roommate begs me to make them, the only thing I do different is make them into bites. I use the silicone bake ware and spoon in the granola, I hate cutting them and this eliminates that step, two bites equals one original serving. I am trying to figure out how to pack them with protein though! Lovely and simple recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
We have loved this recipe! As is, it is great! (I do double the recipe to make the bars thicker in my 9x13 pan.) To adjust to our tastes, I've made the following changes to Dana's recipe. (And some of these have been suggested in other reviews.) I've cut the brown sugar to 1/3 cup and the chocolate chips to 1/4 cup. Sometimes I will omit the chocolate chips and then increase the fruit to 3/4 cup. One reviewer mentioned switching the butter for peanut butter. I am anxious to try this one but haven't had an opportunity since I have one child that doesn't like nuts. Another reviewer mentioned cooking the butter, honey, and brown sugar for 2 minutes at a rolling boil. I found this very helpful. It brings the sugar to somewhere between the soft ball and hard ball stage which keeps it from falling apart too much. I also put parchment paper on the bottom of my 9x13 pan. After pressing the mixture into the pan and while it is still warm, I cut the granola into bars. Then I put it in the fridge to harden. After it is cool, I pull it out, break the bars along the cut lines, and then put in sandwich bags so that they are ready to grab for lunches or snacks. As the bars get warm, they can sometimes fall apart slightly. But I think this is partially because of the lower sugar amount. No matter, our whole family loves these! Thanks for a great recipe, Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Easy and fast, but too sweet for my taste and falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very sweet! I would cut the sugar in the future. Taste is spot-on! (I added a pinch of salt) Also, came out crumby- all my "bars" fell apart, not sure if a thermometer is needed for a harder candy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
We like our bars really chewy, so I made this and added a tablespoon of real maple syrup. I omitted the fruit and nuts, and just made them with mini chips, since I am not much of a fruit and granola type of person. We were eating the stuff like it was candy, it's so good! I was actually disappointed after we put the chips in, because I just wanted to eat it plain again. And now I am a convert! I was dying to try them with raisins or craisins or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made these for the first time last night and really enjoyed them. They are a savior for me as store-bought ones, which are filled with high fructose corn syrup and random other garbage, make me really sick. The best thing is that they're chewy! And since they don't require use of the oven, I can make them all summer without worrying about overheating my apartment. I use whatever I have on hand, so in this batch I didn't use rolled oats, but I added cinnamon just for fun. Also the next time I make it I might use 1/3c brown sugar. 1/2 wasn't a crazy amount, but I'd just like to use a wee bit less. UPDATE 4/19/2015: I still make these often! I've found that they're too sweet with the 1/2c brown sugar and 1/4 honey, so instead of the honey I tried light agave syrup with my latest batch. It worked really well! I've also been using coconut sugar in place of the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States