Chewy Maple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Just made these (sans coconut). I live in FL, very humid and they are holding up very well! Rolled them in coarse sugar. Used half real maple syrup (grade B) and half fake stuff from store and they could use more maple taste but I'm too cheap to go out and get maple syrup extract, lol. Good product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVIOLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These are what i will call my PMS cookies. Was having massive cravings last night at 9:30 and looking for a cookie recipe that i could use without having to go to the store. they were chewy and very sugary i loved them. i didnt have the coconut but it didnt matter. i also didnt have brown sugar so i just used raw sugar. they satisfied my cravings thats for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I did not have the problems other people are mentioning. They're called "chewy" cookies for a reason, people. Chewy cookies are always a little flatter than standard cookies. That being said... I did add 1/4 cup of flour, not because of others' suggestions, but because I live at 6000ft. and I was making my own high altitude alterations. I also reduced the heat to 350 and cooked for 9-10 minutes. (Which was weird because high altitude usually = longer cooking time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Brennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
They're ok, but have a slight after taste from the maple syrup. I substituted oats (1 cup) for the coconut and made some with & some without walnuts - those with walnuts were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
These turned out ok, but far too sweet for my taste. If I make them again, I will omit 1/2 a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Definitely more coconut taste than maple but still really good. Nice for something different from the usual chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
how very interesting these cookies were! the cookie was chewy and flavorful, however, I couldn't get past the feeling that I should have saved myself some calories to burn off and just eaten a pancake w/ syrup. good cookie, though! just not my thing, I guess.. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Coconut haters will love this cookie! I was determined to follow the recipe exactly...but did not have good maple syrup and was amazed when I couldn't find our regular maple syrup anywhere...I have a 2-yr old that takes the ketchup and syrup out of the fridge regularly, so I ended up substituting with corn syrup and maple extract. I made one batch with walnuts and one without. Both were delicious and I had several people not believe me when I told them there was coconut in them. I have had several requests for this cookie and it has become my favorite. I tend to like crisp and flat cookies that I can eat with milk or coffee and so I did not add additional flour. I did use 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening for one of the batches and really like the crisp yet chewy texture the butter seems to give. I also made extra batches and refrigerated the dough - the dough is a little sticky to work with but I just sliced them and they flatened to perfect little circles after baking. Thanks for such a great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
these were not mapley enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I wss getting bored of my usual chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies and decided to give these a try. They were wonderful! Definately very sweet, so I cut back on on sugar a bit and used walnuts instead of the coconut. Totally addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States