Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
Unbelievable!! I took everyone's advice and added about 3/4 c marg. and a full cup of honey. I wrapped these individually and froze them to put in my kids' lunches. They are a hit! I will never buy a box of granola bars again. After they have been frozen they are not even a little crumbly! Every morning, I just stick one in each lunch box, straight out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Wholesome and good. The granola bars are even good if you substitute applesauce for the oil! Chocolate chips, peanut butter, and nuts are good additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2000
My fussy 7 year old cannot get enough of these bars! We definately like these better than the ones from the store. I have tried many others but this is the one we all like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
Loved this universal recipe! You can add your favorite of whatever you like and make your personal favorite granola bar or cusomize it for a friend! Makes great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
My kids absolutely loved these much more than store bought!! I read the reviews and added 1 cup of honey and they were perfect. We've made them twice and each time, they were foolproof! I've added shelled sunflower seeds, mini-chocolate chips, peanuts, walnuts and pecans and they were great!! I just let the kids add the ingredients and mix it together. I won't buy store bought again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
Tried these today and they were quick/easy/and delicious! Per previous reviewers I went ahead an added 1cup honey instead of 1/2 cup and they turned out just right. Dont think I'll be buying Granola bars EVER again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
These where great!! Picky eater kids like them, I do daycare and I prefer these over cookies. I'm glad I used 1 cup of honey like others suggested. They are messy but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
These were great! I made exactly as recipe stated. My husband really liked them. I think next time I'll adding more honey though (like others suggested) to make them just a little more chewy. The possiblities are endless as what combinations you can make with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
AWESOME! Instead of adding more honey for moistness, I added 1 mashed banana and reduced margarine to 1/2 cup (or less). Nice texture, not crumbly, and just the right sweetness. Also added cinnnamon & nutmeg, mixed raisins & nuts - anything goes with this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
These are fabulous! I added 1 cup of honey and 1 cup of butter. They needed to cook for 30 minutes with these changes. They came out perfect and are not one bit crumbly. I added peanut butter chips and honey roasted soy nuts. I will try all sorts of things because I will be making these often! Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States