Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by BamaBelle
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I have made these bars several times and they turn out perfect every time. The only reason they make fall apart is if you take them out of the pan too early. I use a jelly roll pan and it works very nicely. Everyone that has eaten them can't get enough. I have played around with several different add-ins but the favorite so far has been chocolate and peanut butter chips. I haven't changed a thing about how I make them and they are fantastic! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Center Line, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These taste really good, but they ended up very crumbly, I almost needed a bowl to eat them. I will try making these again but adding an egg to try and hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Apa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Family approved!! I tweaked the recipe the first time (1/3c butter, 1/3c coconut oil, and 3 1/2c oats 1c rice krispies). Didn't quite have 2c choc chips, but very rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very good however they just kept breaking apart. I am thinking if I use an egg next time it would help them stay together instead of just crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Amazing bars! The recipe is simple and you can add in bonus goodies (currants, cranberries, flax seeds, etc) with no issue. I've made this substituting the butter with applesauce, makes it lower fat and a bit softer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These are definitely yummy- because they're basically cookies! Tasty recipe, but I wouldn't call them granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drumchick99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is an excellent base recipe that I will definitely use again! I made a bunch of tweaks to suit what I had on hand, including swapping 1 cup of crunchy peanut butter for the butter, adding extra honey (as suggested by other reviewers) and a lil' molasses, and reducing the sugar. I also only used 4 cups of oats and subbed the last 1/2 cup with coconut instead. In addition to chocolate chips, I also added dried cranberries & mango, toasted almonds, sunflower seeds, and hemp hearts. I pressed the granola down mid-way through baking and once again before it cooled. The end result was not crumbly at all. In fact, they are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made these once and adding peanut butter chips also; they taste good. But my only critique is that they break up to easily. How do keep them from not breaking up so easily? What can I add to the recipe? If anybody knows please tell me. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Awesome. Sweet but not too sweet. Holds together well, and not sticky. My wife and I are planning on making these every week instead of buying bars at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. First, I used 5 cups of old fashioned oats, since it was what I had on hand. I used about a stick of butter, melted and a mashed, ripe banana to make up for the rest. I kept the rest of the measurements the same but did not use chocolate chips. Instead I added some shredded coconut and cinnamon.I think it's really important to separate your wet and dry ingredients and melt the butter to make sure your bars don't come out crumbly. I do think the final product did come out a bit drier than I expected but next time, I'll be sure to adjust. I might add a bit more sugar or honey as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harika14

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States