Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These are definitely yummy- because they're basically cookies! Tasty recipe, but I wouldn't call them granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drumchick99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is an excellent base recipe that I will definitely use again! I made a bunch of tweaks to suit what I had on hand, including swapping 1 cup of crunchy peanut butter for the butter, adding extra honey (as suggested by other reviewers) and a lil' molasses, and reducing the sugar. I also only used 4 cups of oats and subbed the last 1/2 cup with coconut instead. In addition to chocolate chips, I also added dried cranberries & mango, toasted almonds, sunflower seeds, and hemp hearts. I pressed the granola down mid-way through baking and once again before it cooled. The end result was not crumbly at all. In fact, they are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made these once and adding peanut butter chips also; they taste good. But my only critique is that they break up to easily. How do keep them from not breaking up so easily? What can I add to the recipe? If anybody knows please tell me. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Awesome. Sweet but not too sweet. Holds together well, and not sticky. My wife and I are planning on making these every week instead of buying bars at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. First, I used 5 cups of old fashioned oats, since it was what I had on hand. I used about a stick of butter, melted and a mashed, ripe banana to make up for the rest. I kept the rest of the measurements the same but did not use chocolate chips. Instead I added some shredded coconut and cinnamon.I think it's really important to separate your wet and dry ingredients and melt the butter to make sure your bars don't come out crumbly. I do think the final product did come out a bit drier than I expected but next time, I'll be sure to adjust. I might add a bit more sugar or honey as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harika14

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I love this recipe! I actually omitted the choco chips and just added choco powder and peanut butter and cooked it longer. Put it in a cookie pan and it turned out better than those crunchy granola bars that you get from the store!!! Yum!!! Thank you for sharing, we are never buying store bought granola bars again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celena27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These are amazing... I made them for my family and my little bro who is 2 would NOT stop snitching!!! I substituted melted butter for the butter though... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
They are very good. They will not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
So this sounded like an awesome start for making something usable out of all those cereal boxes that were sitting in my cupboard. I took all the kashi, granola, cornflakes, steel-cut oatmeal, etc that had been opened but not eaten in the last 3 months and dumped it into a VERY big stainless steel bowl. 20 cups worth! So I somewhat randomly quadrupled/pentupled(?) the recipe for the liquids. I added in molasses, corn syrup (trying to empty my cupboards!), lots of brown sugar, NO flour - I figured there would be plenty from the cereal, some egg whites that I needed to use up (and would help bind the recipe). Blended it all up, then split it up into 3 batches. Added peanut butter to one batch (YUM!), chocolate chips to the next (YUMM!) and craisins to the other! Its all cooking right now, but it smells delicious. I expect some falling apart, but hey it's homemade. Going to let it cool, cut into bars and serve it up! ... Came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamcomingundone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very tasty and customizable! I patted it down really hard before and after baking it and it held together great! Next time, I may try it without the brown sugar to be healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States