Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I have made this recipe a few times now and each time it turns out great! The first time I added Raisins and walnuts and this past time I added dried apricots and dried pineapple and a splash of lemon juice. I also changed out 1/2 flour for 1/2 c whole wheat flour and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great recipe, will use it over and over. I read the other reviews before making, I omitted the brown sugar and increased the honey to just under a cup (I only had cinnamon honey) and they turned out a tad too sweet for my liking, I did increase the butter only to help mixture stay together. I added chocolate chips and crasins, I may only add half a cup of each, since they turned out sweet from the honey and chocolate. I will try different variations to find the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
tried it twice. Cut back to one cup chocolate chips, still tastes great but always comes out crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
love it with 1/2 chocolate chips & 1/2 peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I've made these a dozen times for school lunches and they are a hit! My son is a granola bar sneak and buying them premade is too expensive. He likes these for his lunches, but,, they are not so full of sugar that he craves them all the time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BamaBelle
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I have made these bars several times and they turn out perfect every time. The only reason they make fall apart is if you take them out of the pan too early. I use a jelly roll pan and it works very nicely. Everyone that has eaten them can't get enough. I have played around with several different add-ins but the favorite so far has been chocolate and peanut butter chips. I haven't changed a thing about how I make them and they are fantastic! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Center Line, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These taste really good, but they ended up very crumbly, I almost needed a bowl to eat them. I will try making these again but adding an egg to try and hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Apa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Family approved!! I tweaked the recipe the first time (1/3c butter, 1/3c coconut oil, and 3 1/2c oats 1c rice krispies). Didn't quite have 2c choc chips, but very rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very good however they just kept breaking apart. I am thinking if I use an egg next time it would help them stay together instead of just crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Amazing bars! The recipe is simple and you can add in bonus goodies (currants, cranberries, flax seeds, etc) with no issue. I've made this substituting the butter with applesauce, makes it lower fat and a bit softer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States