Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
love it with 1/2 chocolate chips & 1/2 peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I've made these a dozen times for school lunches and they are a hit! My son is a granola bar sneak and buying them premade is too expensive. He likes these for his lunches, but,, they are not so full of sugar that he craves them all the time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BamaBelle
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I have made these bars several times and they turn out perfect every time. The only reason they make fall apart is if you take them out of the pan too early. I use a jelly roll pan and it works very nicely. Everyone that has eaten them can't get enough. I have played around with several different add-ins but the favorite so far has been chocolate and peanut butter chips. I haven't changed a thing about how I make them and they are fantastic! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Center Line, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These taste really good, but they ended up very crumbly, I almost needed a bowl to eat them. I will try making these again but adding an egg to try and hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Apa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Family approved!! I tweaked the recipe the first time (1/3c butter, 1/3c coconut oil, and 3 1/2c oats 1c rice krispies). Didn't quite have 2c choc chips, but very rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very good however they just kept breaking apart. I am thinking if I use an egg next time it would help them stay together instead of just crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Amazing bars! The recipe is simple and you can add in bonus goodies (currants, cranberries, flax seeds, etc) with no issue. I've made this substituting the butter with applesauce, makes it lower fat and a bit softer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These are definitely yummy- because they're basically cookies! Tasty recipe, but I wouldn't call them granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drumchick99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is an excellent base recipe that I will definitely use again! I made a bunch of tweaks to suit what I had on hand, including swapping 1 cup of crunchy peanut butter for the butter, adding extra honey (as suggested by other reviewers) and a lil' molasses, and reducing the sugar. I also only used 4 cups of oats and subbed the last 1/2 cup with coconut instead. In addition to chocolate chips, I also added dried cranberries & mango, toasted almonds, sunflower seeds, and hemp hearts. I pressed the granola down mid-way through baking and once again before it cooled. The end result was not crumbly at all. In fact, they are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made these once and adding peanut butter chips also; they taste good. But my only critique is that they break up to easily. How do keep them from not breaking up so easily? What can I add to the recipe? If anybody knows please tell me. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States