Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I used quick oats b/c thats what I had on hand - big mistake! But the flavour is still good. They turned out brownie like instead of granola bar like. Used 1/2 of applesauce, 1/2 butter and 1/2 honey and I added a couple handfuls of s/s choc chips and mini marshmallows. Will try again with rolled oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is my first attempt at making granola bars. I did not have any butter so I left it out. I used 2/3 c creamy natural peanut butter instead. I also used about 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce. Used only 1 cup of chocolate chips. This would be better with mini chocolate chips! Oh, and I could not get this to mix with a utensil. I had to use my hands! LOL Thanks for the recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My kids and I made this tonight. My kids devoured it and my husband, who claims to not be a granola fan went back to scrape the crumbs from the pan. We used chopped pecans and raisins instead of chocolate chips and we added two heaping teaspoons of chocolate powder. We also added a squeeze more honey than called for. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Ugron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made these today and agree with others who say the mixture was too dry and crumbly. I managed to cut some into squares, but they were not nice and tight, and falling apart. The taste was terrific, I added walnuts and dried chopped apricots, as well as mini choc chips and even a little bit of rice krispies and though the mix seemed wet enough, they did not hold together. Wondering if a beaten egg or two might have helped, but I will research other granola bars to see if they ever add an egg to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Excellent. Chewy and moist, just as promised. I had to add 1/4c corn syrup to mine because the dry ingredients just wouldn't stick with only the butter and honey and a little splash of canola oil for the same reason. Other than that, I used the recipe exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Geek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very tasty! I took some advice from previous reviewers and made my own additions. Instead of 2/3 c butter, I used 3/4 c margarine and 1/4 c peanut butter. I also increased honey (no more than 1 c of honey total), replaced 1 c of rolled oats with unsalted sunflower seeds, and used whole wheat flour. I used Rogers Porridge Oats (which also contains flax seed and wheat bran), and 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips instead of the recommended 2 cups of choc chips. I also recommend freezing them for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
these we ok, not as chewy as I would like, more like a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
They turned out great.....My family and grandchildren loved them.....I wanted to make it more healthier by using all- purpose wheat flour instead of white flour....I also used sunflower seeds, walnuts and raisins instead of chocolate chips. Now that I no how to make them it will save me a lot of money then buying them at the store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
1c cheerios & 3 1/2c oatmeal roughly chopped. 1c whole wheat flour. 1/3c melted butter & 1/3 c applesauce. omitted the sugar. only used 1 cup "extras."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Did it just like recipe but crumbled so ate it with a spoon. Very yummy though and will certainly try again and follow some of the suggested changes others have made. Love the jar of banana baby food idea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States