Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe closely, but I subbed quick oats and light corn syrup because that is what I had on hand and also a small bag of sliced almonds. I also used 1 c. of the corn syrup instead of 1/2 per what another reviewer suggested. Pressed down hard in a jelly roll pan. Baked at 325 for 18 min and then another 3 min. to get them to golden brown. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
These granola bars are amazing! I followed the basics but also added in some dried cranberries and coconut. To say the least, they were delicious! The bars are chewy and easy to make. They are a great snack and I loved how I could experiment with different ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I only had steel cut oats so I tried it and they are great! I doubled the recipe which yielded 4.5 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
YUM!!! I cut down to 1 and 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Great for kid's lunches and pre-sport snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made these and did a bit of tweaking, as did some of the other reviewers I've seen. I used whole wheat flour instead of AP, used shortening (vegetable) instead of butter, and agave nectar instead of the honey. They were DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is a regularly made in our house...made it this week but was short on honey and added 1/4 cup molasses to the honey...WOW very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I used quick oats b/c thats what I had on hand - big mistake! But the flavour is still good. They turned out brownie like instead of granola bar like. Used 1/2 of applesauce, 1/2 butter and 1/2 honey and I added a couple handfuls of s/s choc chips and mini marshmallows. Will try again with rolled oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is my first attempt at making granola bars. I did not have any butter so I left it out. I used 2/3 c creamy natural peanut butter instead. I also used about 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce. Used only 1 cup of chocolate chips. This would be better with mini chocolate chips! Oh, and I could not get this to mix with a utensil. I had to use my hands! LOL Thanks for the recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My kids and I made this tonight. My kids devoured it and my husband, who claims to not be a granola fan went back to scrape the crumbs from the pan. We used chopped pecans and raisins instead of chocolate chips and we added two heaping teaspoons of chocolate powder. We also added a squeeze more honey than called for. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Ugron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made these today and agree with others who say the mixture was too dry and crumbly. I managed to cut some into squares, but they were not nice and tight, and falling apart. The taste was terrific, I added walnuts and dried chopped apricots, as well as mini choc chips and even a little bit of rice krispies and though the mix seemed wet enough, they did not hold together. Wondering if a beaten egg or two might have helped, but I will research other granola bars to see if they ever add an egg to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States