Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made these this morning but instead of adding the 2 cups of chocolate chips, I put one cup choc. chips in, 1/2 cup shredded coconut, and 1/2 cup almonds in. I also added a heaping tablespoon of flax seed. They were good but a little crumbly. Gonna see if there is something I need to change...they taste awesome though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was a bit dense so I only add 2 1/2 cups oats & then add 2 cups rice crispy cereal. It makes the bars lighter without losing flavor. Also I really like to add 1 tsp cinnamon & about 2 tbsp peanut butter to the mix. I found that it mixes better when u combine the butter, honey, & peanut butter separately and mix it with the dry ingredients. wonderful recipe!! I make this weekly for my kids!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paladine53

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Delicious, but tastes/looks just like a cookie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Manuel, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I feel bad rating this as a "like it" because it was a great starter recipe, but the original just didn't turn out as soft/ chewy as I wanted. I wanted a bar that would hold together but have the softness/ chewiness of a Cliff bar (but with oats). After reading other reviews, I upped the butter (melted) and (raw) honey both to one full cup each, replaced 1/2 cup oats with 1 cup brown rice crispies, decreased the brown sugar to a scant 1/4 cup, used all fine-ground whole-wheat flour instead of AP, and added 1/4 cup each ground golden flax meal, red flax seeds, and wheat bran. To the dry ingredients (which I mixed together thoroughly before incorporating the wet) I added 1/8 tsp fine sea salt, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp ground cloves. I stuck to the 2 cups add-ins (dried cranberries, chopped walnuts, chopped whole raw almonds, and a small sprinkling of chopped dark chocolate). Pressed it HARD into a 9X13 pan and baked for about 16 minutes, pressed firmly into pan again, and baked another 3 minutes just till the sides looked like they were barely starting to brown... it will seem too soft at first but hardens as it cools!!! Cool 10 min, sliced into thin bars (I got 24 pcs) using a plastic fork (it doesn't stick this way) and then let it continue to cool for another hour in a cold kitchen... then re-sliced them, squishing slightly to keep their shape, and wrapped into individual bars with plastic. SO GOOD! Perfectly gorgeous, chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe closely, but I subbed quick oats and light corn syrup because that is what I had on hand and also a small bag of sliced almonds. I also used 1 c. of the corn syrup instead of 1/2 per what another reviewer suggested. Pressed down hard in a jelly roll pan. Baked at 325 for 18 min and then another 3 min. to get them to golden brown. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
These granola bars are amazing! I followed the basics but also added in some dried cranberries and coconut. To say the least, they were delicious! The bars are chewy and easy to make. They are a great snack and I loved how I could experiment with different ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I only had steel cut oats so I tried it and they are great! I doubled the recipe which yielded 4.5 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
YUM!!! I cut down to 1 and 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Great for kid's lunches and pre-sport snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made these and did a bit of tweaking, as did some of the other reviewers I've seen. I used whole wheat flour instead of AP, used shortening (vegetable) instead of butter, and agave nectar instead of the honey. They were DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is a regularly made in our house...made it this week but was short on honey and added 1/4 cup molasses to the honey...WOW very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States