Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe was good- just like a bought muesli bar. I had to add two eggs to bind it all together and next time I will use less butter and add more seeds and healthy things. I love the quantity in whcih it yields- great for the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GadgetGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These are fabulous! The assorted mixture I used was: semi-sweet chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, dried cranberries, sweetened coconut, sunflower seed and sliced almonds. I only made half the recipe and used an 8x8 pan and it made 8 fairly large bars. They taste so much better than store bought granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These are really good! I subbed real maple syrup for the brown sugar and added sunflower nuts. Then after cooling I loosened the edges and flipped the entire granola piece out, added a layer of melted dark chocolate on the bottom, placed in the refrigerator to cool completely. The layer of chocolate helps keep the bars from crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Maybe I did something wrong but we didn't care for these at all. They were too dry & the texture was crumbly at first then hard when they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious as is!!! I did find they taste 100x better the next day. I will try some modifications next time just to make them healthier and lighter, but try the recipe as is first. They're delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have been using this recipe as a base for about 3 years, I substitute 1 cup of Rice Krispies and 1/2 cup granola for 1.5 cups of the oats and I have used raisins and butterscotch chips and even fresh fruit instead of the chocolate chips. The key to keeping them chewy is to make sure there is a good serving of honey in there. If it's crumbly going into the pan then it will be crumbly coming out, also pack down into the pan well to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
DID NOT LIKE THIS RECIPE!!! They hardly stick together - totally fell apart when cutting them. I added more nuts than chips - perhaps that's why, but I wanted to make them healthier and less sugary - way too crumbly. The recipe need something to bind it together. I won't make it again. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Made them yesterday, GREAT STUFF, but how long will it store in sandwich bags? I would like to take it to work instead of my nature valley bars. I rate the bars at 9 on a 10 scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I used 4c of oats, added a little cinnamon, and a dash of almond extract. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! We loved it so much. We make this every time we go on a trip! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking34

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States