Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
very tasty, but I added coconut shreds, sunflower seeds and other dried fruit. It's fun to make and takes no time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
These granola bars are pretty good as written, just a bit too sweet. I made them a second time, substituting 1 cup of crispy rice cereal for 1 cup of oats, cutting the amount of chocolate chips in half, from 2 cups to just 1, and decreasing the brown sugar to 2 T. This was the perfect recipe for our family, a wonderful balance of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyLovely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I had the same problem as several others. These bars totally fell apart, even after cooling completely. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I've made these plenty of times always doubling the recipe for my large family. I always find I need to increase the butter to 1/2 cup. Add some more honey, and I also add almonds, flax seed, craisins, coconut and sometimes white chocolate. I find that dates make them chewy as well and add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These granola bars, while tasty, did not hold together at all. I mixed up the add-ins a bit...I just couldn't imagine these with a full two cups of chocolate chips! Basically good, but definitely needs quite a bit of doctoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCheeksGF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe was good- just like a bought muesli bar. I had to add two eggs to bind it all together and next time I will use less butter and add more seeds and healthy things. I love the quantity in whcih it yields- great for the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GadgetGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These are fabulous! The assorted mixture I used was: semi-sweet chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, dried cranberries, sweetened coconut, sunflower seed and sliced almonds. I only made half the recipe and used an 8x8 pan and it made 8 fairly large bars. They taste so much better than store bought granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These are really good! I subbed real maple syrup for the brown sugar and added sunflower nuts. Then after cooling I loosened the edges and flipped the entire granola piece out, added a layer of melted dark chocolate on the bottom, placed in the refrigerator to cool completely. The layer of chocolate helps keep the bars from crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Maybe I did something wrong but we didn't care for these at all. They were too dry & the texture was crumbly at first then hard when they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious as is!!! I did find they taste 100x better the next day. I will try some modifications next time just to make them healthier and lighter, but try the recipe as is first. They're delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States