Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by jltaylor
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Yum! These granola bars are so much better than the Quaker Oats granola bars plus a lot healthier. They are soft and chewy, though they aren't the same consistency as the store bought kind. That's okay though because these are so much better. I had my son, niece, and husband all give them a big thumbs up. I made mine with some chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, and walnuts that I had leftover from some other baking I had done earlier. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jltaylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I make this weekly for my teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I love this recipe! Like others I adjusted some of the ingredients. I added a bit more butter and honey, a little less flour. I substituted about half the old fashioed oats for quick oats and added some ground flax seed(we like the nutty flavor). For add ins I chopped some almonds, added some cherry flavored craisins and coconut with about half of the chips. I added some almond extract with the vanilla. The flavors together are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
very tasty, but I added coconut shreds, sunflower seeds and other dried fruit. It's fun to make and takes no time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
These granola bars are pretty good as written, just a bit too sweet. I made them a second time, substituting 1 cup of crispy rice cereal for 1 cup of oats, cutting the amount of chocolate chips in half, from 2 cups to just 1, and decreasing the brown sugar to 2 T. This was the perfect recipe for our family, a wonderful balance of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyLovely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I had the same problem as several others. These bars totally fell apart, even after cooling completely. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I've made these plenty of times always doubling the recipe for my large family. I always find I need to increase the butter to 1/2 cup. Add some more honey, and I also add almonds, flax seed, craisins, coconut and sometimes white chocolate. I find that dates make them chewy as well and add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These granola bars, while tasty, did not hold together at all. I mixed up the add-ins a bit...I just couldn't imagine these with a full two cups of chocolate chips! Basically good, but definitely needs quite a bit of doctoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCheeksGF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe was good- just like a bought muesli bar. I had to add two eggs to bind it all together and next time I will use less butter and add more seeds and healthy things. I love the quantity in whcih it yields- great for the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GadgetGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These are fabulous! The assorted mixture I used was: semi-sweet chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, dried cranberries, sweetened coconut, sunflower seed and sliced almonds. I only made half the recipe and used an 8x8 pan and it made 8 fairly large bars. They taste so much better than store bought granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States