Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made these today. Followed the recipe exactly. They are very very tasty. I used a 2-cup combination of dried cherries, pecans, chocolate chips, and coconut. My only issue is they aren't holding together very well. I'll still make them again, though, they are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great recipe. If you use a mixer, use a dough hook on the lowest setting for the least amount of time possible (and still mix adequately) or your oats will break up and the granola bars will resemble 'bran' bars. Heat the honey (slightly) to increase its viscosity to reduce mixing time. I like this recipe because it is a good 'base' to which you can add nuts, dried fruit, or other healthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Love this recipe! Easy quick and you can add any sweetness you want. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I felt this one was healthier than others I had tried. Came out chewy but was less crumbley than other version. I used 3 suggestions others have mentioned; increased butter to 1 cup and honey to almost 1 cup, reduced chocolate to 1 cup. Can't wait to start experimenting with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
They came out greata! I made these with my daycare kids and it was super easy to make. They taste good and they hold their bar shape well. They are a bit softer than quaker granola bars. I substituted 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal for rice krispie cereal and added more honey. I also separated into two batches and made one with Halloween sprinkles and another with almond slivers, m&m candy and Halloween spirnkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These are great! My daughter's chomping one now. I made them exact to recipe except I only had 1 1/2 cups of oats so I broke up 1/2 a cup of pretzels and adde that. Other then a few pieces that crumbled off when I cut them they're perfectly chewy! My daughter said "we gotta make these all the time!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These granola bars are great and aren't just eaten by the kids around here! The only change I make is to change out two cups of oats for two cups of Rice Krispies. I love by-passing the boxes of granola bars at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Always makes amazing and tasty granola bars. I added maple syrup to make them a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was amazing!It was chewy also allowed me to to add a special granola mix. Once again this was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very disappointed with the texture. It was so crumbly that it fell apart. The flavor is good the recipe is flexible (nuts, fruit, etc.) The problem is with the base syrup it seems. Perhaps adding a nut butter like peanut butter or almond butter might help the texture. If it would have held together as a bar I would have given it high marks. Its easy, good tasting, and flexible in add ins, but with its falling to small crumbles I'll be looking for a different recipe. After all I was looking for chewy granola bars not chewy granola crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States