Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
these are great! i made mine healthier by limiting the butter to 1/2 cup and compensated by adding in 1 jar of baby food bananas. i also omitted the chocolate chips and instead used craisins and raisins. halfway through the bake time, i removed the pan from the oven and pressed the mixture firmly into the pan again. this helped to prevent them from crumbling. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1058 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
We were going through boxes and boxes of store bought chewy granola bars so I searched for a recipe so we could make our own. This one is great. I feel better about my kids eating something homemade without all the processing of packaged ones! We found them a bit crumbly too. A few changes include whole wheat flour in place of white, have increased the honey & butter a bit, and substituted a cup or two of Rice Crispy's in place of some of the oatmeal to make them a bit lighter and crunchy. We have also cut down on the chips to 1 cup as 2 cups were much too sweet for us. They are a favorite by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
612 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boothbay Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Excellent! I've made these several times. These suggestions from previous reviewers worked best: 1. Increase butter and honey to 1 cup each. 2. Mix WELL (until sticky). 3. Press HARD into pan. 4. Freeze bars to make less crumbly. I also substitute 1/4 cup Rice Krispies for some of the oats, for better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
These were incredible!!! These are the best granola bars I've ever tried, literally. The version I made tasted almost identical to the Quaker chocolate chip granola bars that kids love. I made a few adjustments like using whole-wheat flour, omitting the sugar and creaming together 2/3 cup butter and 2/3 cup honey together instead and everything came together beautifully! I added shredded coconut, pecans and 1/2 of a bar of 70% chocolate that I chopped up. PERFECT! Thank you so much for the recipe Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
These were delicious!!! I didn't add the brown sugar or the chocolate chips to make them healthier and they came out great. The honey made them sweet enough without the extra sugar added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
These granola bars are AWESOME! They held together superbly, and I had no problems with them crumbling at all. I did add the extra honey, as the other reviewers suggested, and I also used a handheld roller to FIRMLY press the mixture into my pan both before and after cooking. The recipe indicates to lightly press it into the pan, but I packed it all in there as tightly as I possibly could... The results were great! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I was a bit shy to try this recipe after reading about it being so dry. I assure you that mine did NOT come out dry. I decreased my oats to 4 cups, used one stick butter, 1/2 c. honey, 1/2 c. applesauce, and 12 ounces of trail mix (which I may change out later). I did not put any brown sugar in it as I thought the trail mix, honey, and applesauce would be enough. I am keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I just made these today and Wow! I am always skipping breakfast and worse yet raiding the vending machine when I get to work. Store bought breakfast/granola bars are expensive(the good kind anyway) and I wanted to find a homemade recipe to have a nutritious "grab n go" breakfast.I wanted more of a health bar so I used 3 cups of Vitamin Enriched Bran Flakes and 2 1/2 c. oats. I put the bran flakes and 2 cups of the oats in a food processor and blended it to form a "cornmeal" type texture. I also added 1/2 cup of peanut butter and reduced the flour to 1/2 cup and mini chocolate chips to 3/4 cup. PERFECT! Try the tips I used and believe me you wont be disappointed..there's tons of room in this recipe for tweaking and adjusting to your own preference. Thanks for sharing this one Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is absolutely awesome!! I always have to have it available to eat!! The first time I made these, they came out crumbly and was the only one that ate them. The second time, i didn't know how much 2/3c was, so used 7Tbsp of butter and melted it. They come out perfect every time and everyone loves them!! MELT THE BUTTER. So thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I added mashed banana and some apple sauce, as well as using the full cup of margerine. My bars were nice and chewy and didn't fall apart at all. Deeeeelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States