Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
DID NOT LIKE THIS RECIPE!!! They hardly stick together - totally fell apart when cutting them. I added more nuts than chips - perhaps that's why, but I wanted to make them healthier and less sugary - way too crumbly. The recipe need something to bind it together. I won't make it again. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Made them yesterday, GREAT STUFF, but how long will it store in sandwich bags? I would like to take it to work instead of my nature valley bars. I rate the bars at 9 on a 10 scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I used 4c of oats, added a little cinnamon, and a dash of almond extract. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! We loved it so much. We make this every time we go on a trip! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking34

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
The recipe is missing the necessary step of putting the bars in the refrigerator after baking--this step solves all the crumbling and taste problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I made this recipe using several suggestions from other reviewers. I added chopped dried apricots, honey, coconut and toasted pecans. So mine were a bit sweet without being over the top. Pretty good! My granola bars are a bit crumbly, so I think if I make these again adding more honey and melted butter might help, or just reducing some of the dry ingrediants. It was nothing too horrible, but I can see that this is the type of thing that might need to be made several times in order to really learn the proper ratio. All in all, great recipe! And what a great breakfast treat to mix things up a little bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These tasted great (I used a two-cup combination of mini chocolate chips, chopped almonds, and coconut), but they were too dry and crumbly. I wish I had read the reviews saying to increase the butter and honey. I will use more next time and hope they stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I thought it was very easy to make. I only made half the recipe and added slivered almonds instead of chocolate chips. Not to sweet I think I will add butterscotch chips next time. I like that it is versatile with what you can put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Aside from being a little crumbley, these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I make a batch and a half of these at least once a week on a Pampered Chef lg bar pan. To take them to the next level, use local honey. It adds so much more flavor than the store bought. I follow the recipe except for increasing honey to 2/3 cup and decreasing choc. to one cup while adding 1 cup of dried cherries, cranberries, sliced almonds, or other nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States