Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Loved the recipe: a nice alternative to cookies. Used maple syrup ins. of honey and left out the br. sugar. Have tried various combinations of dried fruits/nuts/chocolate and they are always a hit. Enjoyed the video version - helps a lot in getting it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Delish! And so easy to make! I melted the butter for 2 reasons...1)I read another reviewer did the same and 2) I didn't want to wait for my refrigerated butter to soften :/. I'm still waiting for them to cool completely but couldn't resist trying a piece now...yum yum yum. You can really taste the honey. Hubby loves them so 5 stars from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jltaylor
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Yum! These granola bars are so much better than the Quaker Oats granola bars plus a lot healthier. They are soft and chewy, though they aren't the same consistency as the store bought kind. That's okay though because these are so much better. I had my son, niece, and husband all give them a big thumbs up. I made mine with some chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, and walnuts that I had leftover from some other baking I had done earlier. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jltaylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I make this weekly for my teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I love this recipe! Like others I adjusted some of the ingredients. I added a bit more butter and honey, a little less flour. I substituted about half the old fashioed oats for quick oats and added some ground flax seed(we like the nutty flavor). For add ins I chopped some almonds, added some cherry flavored craisins and coconut with about half of the chips. I added some almond extract with the vanilla. The flavors together are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
very tasty, but I added coconut shreds, sunflower seeds and other dried fruit. It's fun to make and takes no time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
These granola bars are pretty good as written, just a bit too sweet. I made them a second time, substituting 1 cup of crispy rice cereal for 1 cup of oats, cutting the amount of chocolate chips in half, from 2 cups to just 1, and decreasing the brown sugar to 2 T. This was the perfect recipe for our family, a wonderful balance of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyLovely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I had the same problem as several others. These bars totally fell apart, even after cooling completely. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I've made these plenty of times always doubling the recipe for my large family. I always find I need to increase the butter to 1/2 cup. Add some more honey, and I also add almonds, flax seed, craisins, coconut and sometimes white chocolate. I find that dates make them chewy as well and add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These granola bars, while tasty, did not hold together at all. I mixed up the add-ins a bit...I just couldn't imagine these with a full two cups of chocolate chips! Basically good, but definitely needs quite a bit of doctoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCheeksGF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States