Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great base recipe! Chewy and not dry. Kids loved them with choc chips! Great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I won't rate something unless I follow the original recipe first. Then if need be I will tweek it until I like it. The first time I made these I knew they'd be too dry. There isn't enough moisture in the ingredients to hold it all together. It was tasty though. We ended up eating it with a spoon over yogurt. The second time I made it I used 4 cups quick oats, 1 cup flour, an entire cup of melted butter and 10 ounces of honey. Finding that it was still a bit dry I used 1/2 c of water. I used the same amount of vanilla, brown sugar and baking soda. Then I used 4 ounces of pecans that I processed in the food processor along with about 4 ounces cinnamon and 1 1/2 Cup of raisins. Baked at 18 minutes, took them out, cut them and left them in the pan to cool. I felt I had to chagne this recipe too much from it's original form to give it any more than 2 stars. Sorry, I just hate rating something so low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Oh my, gooey, chewy granola love! Based on other comments, I made the following changes: substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat in all purpose flour, increased to 1 cup of butter, and added 1/2 cup of molasses to the 1/2 cup honey. Then I divided the batter in two: 1 for chocolate chips (I used 3/4th cup) for the kids, and 1 for fruits and nuts (cranberries, walnuts) for me. It came out darker than the pictures because of the molasses, but oh, so rich & delicious. Also, gooey in the first half hour, but chewy later. I'm looking forward to trying this with dates and cashews and other combos. Loved the simplicity of the recipe -- thank you and bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
a little hard to keep in bar-shapes but they are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were really good. I didnt have honey so I looked online for substitutes and ended up using water and sugar mixture. I pressed them hard into the pan with a large plastic spatula then when they were fresh out of the oven, I pressed them done firmly again. They were not crumbly at all and they were perfect for school lunches. I will add less sugar next time as they tasted more like an oatmeal cookie than a granola bar. The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Too sweet and don't stick together well. I wouldn't put any brown sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Super easy and good. Definitely need to press into pan hard and doesn't need that much of the chocolate chips. But i love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
lOVE THIS RECIPE. I used the substitutions as suggested (1 cup of honey, Melted butter). I also used half cup white and half cup wheat flour. Came out a little dry so I may decrease the oats the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
i subbed 1.5 cups of oats for 1.5 cups of rice crispies. they came out very good but there is too much chocolate chips. i would recommend cutting the chocolate in half. when they were done (18mins), i took them out and pressed them flat with a metal turner to compact the granola sheet. i let them sit out and cut them after 30 mins. i then wrapped them and put in the refridge. stayed nice and together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States