Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Truly chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I will try some suggestions to add more honey & reduce brown sugar & butter to decrease crumbly-ness. Maple syrup is an excellent option if you don't have honey, or don't have enough honey for the recipe. I often make two batches- one for granola bars & one for straight up granola. My husband eats these up so quickly I can't keep them in the house! Also, I use 1 cup dried fruit & 1 cup crushed miscellaneous nuts instead of the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great and easy recipe. I added bits of dried apricots and used about half the chocolate chips. Next time will try with a bit less flour to reduce crumbliness which is not too much anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
they are VERY delicious bars, but are very crumbly. I'll have to figure a way to make them stick together better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Way too sweet, but that's easily remedied. Other than that, great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Pretty good! I made some changes and they were a little dry, but still tasty. I used 31/2C oats plus 1cup crushed cinnamon cheerios, 1/2C marg, 1/2C applesauce (one small container) 1/4C chunky peanut butter, 1/4C honey and 1/4C brown sugar. Also I used assorted nuts, fruits, etc instead of all choc chips. Will definitely try these again and play with the liquids to make it moister (maybe I'll try adding an egg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My family voted this as the best granola bar recipe we tried and we've been making them for years. Edited: This time we added 1/3 cup applesauce (one jar of baby applesauce) to the mixture due to dry crumbliness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I cut the ingredients of this recipe in half because its only me and my daughter. After making them, I'm so glad I did! LOL, they were so good I wouldve eaten them all. Its not exactly a good thing to oo while dieting. I made a vegan version by using Earth Balance Butter and no chocolate chips. I used glazed walnuts and dried pecans for my 'filling'. I added a dash of cinnamon too! I also smashed down the mixture once it came out of the oven. I just ate 2 and is nearly 1am...! Can't wait to cut these up and make more for my friend on Saturday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I love this recipe; it is very quick and easy. The first batch I made, following the recipe, were a little too crumbly for my taste. On my second try, following suggestions from other reviewers, I used 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 cup of honey and 1/2 cup of butter. This batch was a hit with the rest of my family. As soon as I buy more oats, I will definitely make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlg6

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Okay don't use left over cereal bags to line your pan, but otherwise these are GREAT! I tried to be thrifty and luckily I only bake them half way, pull them out to press and that is when I noticed my bag was kind of melting :) A great way to use left over cereal. I used 2 cups cereal 2 cups rolled oats, 1 stick butter (1/2 cup) and 2/3 cup honey and only 1 cup mini chips. I have picky kids and they love them, kind of sweet but its a lot cheaper than buying them. I made two batches, one for home and one to give to my son at college. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States