Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is a great basic recipe. I made changes as per the recommendations of many others, such as doubling the honey and omitting the brown sugar. Increased the butter to a cup. Subbed one of the cups of oats with a cup of rice krispies. I added sunflower seeds, chia seeds, and hemp hearts for protein and fibre. Packed them into the kids' lunchboxes today, so the final verdict will come from them after school. The piece I tasted was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made these today. Followed the recipe exactly. They are very very tasty. I used a 2-cup combination of dried cherries, pecans, chocolate chips, and coconut. My only issue is they aren't holding together very well. I'll still make them again, though, they are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great recipe. If you use a mixer, use a dough hook on the lowest setting for the least amount of time possible (and still mix adequately) or your oats will break up and the granola bars will resemble 'bran' bars. Heat the honey (slightly) to increase its viscosity to reduce mixing time. I like this recipe because it is a good 'base' to which you can add nuts, dried fruit, or other healthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Love this recipe! Easy quick and you can add any sweetness you want. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I felt this one was healthier than others I had tried. Came out chewy but was less crumbley than other version. I used 3 suggestions others have mentioned; increased butter to 1 cup and honey to almost 1 cup, reduced chocolate to 1 cup. Can't wait to start experimenting with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
They came out greata! I made these with my daycare kids and it was super easy to make. They taste good and they hold their bar shape well. They are a bit softer than quaker granola bars. I substituted 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal for rice krispie cereal and added more honey. I also separated into two batches and made one with Halloween sprinkles and another with almond slivers, m&m candy and Halloween spirnkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These are great! My daughter's chomping one now. I made them exact to recipe except I only had 1 1/2 cups of oats so I broke up 1/2 a cup of pretzels and adde that. Other then a few pieces that crumbled off when I cut them they're perfectly chewy! My daughter said "we gotta make these all the time!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These granola bars are great and aren't just eaten by the kids around here! The only change I make is to change out two cups of oats for two cups of Rice Krispies. I love by-passing the boxes of granola bars at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Always makes amazing and tasty granola bars. I added maple syrup to make them a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was amazing!It was chewy also allowed me to to add a special granola mix. Once again this was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malaika mchopa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States