Chewy Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious, chewy perfect ginger molasses cookies! The whole family loved them - sprinkled with sugar when I took them out of the oven for that extra touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Terrific cookies! I did use Crisco (I had some to use up) but I did not have crystallized ginger and they turned out beautiful. I also dropped rolled cookies in a bowl with about 4 TBS of regular sugar and shook the bowl to lightly coat the cookies and flattened slightly with a spatula. Ate 3 immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Best ginger cookie ever. I made these without the crystallized ginger and they were amazing. Spice level is perfect but not for the faint of heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I substituted coconut oil for the shortening and they turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I added 3 teaspoons ground ginger since the warning of the other person who thought it was too strong and then I flattened a good sized ball between my palms and this spliced it with a small gingerbread man cookie cutter. It cooked the same, 10 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoxanneZYG
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used brown sugar instead of white... Delicious! I would chill the batter next time to make it easier to roll into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
LONG LAST…perfect ginger cookies. After much experimentation with many recipes, I just made this recipe EXACTLY as it read. My husband, a life-long cookie lover, said moments ago, "These are the best cookies I have ever had." Cooked to a chewy/crispy wonderfulness in a well pre-heated oven for 10 minutes (for once exactly the time stated in the recipe!), left to cool just a bit on the pan…then viola…perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love ginger but honestly, these cookies were a bit too strong for me. The "bite" from the ginger was too much so I'll probably use 3 teaspoons max next time. Also, teaspoon-sized balls were too small. The bottoms burnt and I had to throw about a dozen of them away. However, when I made them at least tablespoon-sized, the tops cracked, just like the directions said, and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The taste was great however, the cookies were flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States