Chewy Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love ginger but honestly, these cookies were a bit too strong for me. The "bite" from the ginger was too much so I'll probably use 3 teaspoons max next time. Also, teaspoon-sized balls were too small. The bottoms burnt and I had to throw about a dozen of them away. However, when I made them at least tablespoon-sized, the tops cracked, just like the directions said, and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoxanneZYG
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used brown sugar instead of white... Delicious! I would chill the batter next time to make it easier to roll into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious, chewy perfect ginger molasses cookies! The whole family loved them - sprinkled with sugar when I took them out of the oven for that extra touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I substituted coconut oil for the shortening and they turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Best ginger cookie ever. I made these without the crystallized ginger and they were amazing. Spice level is perfect but not for the faint of heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
LONG LAST…perfect ginger cookies. After much experimentation with many recipes, I just made this recipe EXACTLY as it read. My husband, a life-long cookie lover, said moments ago, "These are the best cookies I have ever had." Cooked to a chewy/crispy wonderfulness in a well pre-heated oven for 10 minutes (for once exactly the time stated in the recipe!), left to cool just a bit on the pan…then viola…perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Terrific cookies! I did use Crisco (I had some to use up) but I did not have crystallized ginger and they turned out beautiful. I also dropped rolled cookies in a bowl with about 4 TBS of regular sugar and shook the bowl to lightly coat the cookies and flattened slightly with a spatula. Ate 3 immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States