Chewy Date Nut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I make massive amounts of cookies every year for Christmas. If I don't make these I hear about it. But why wouldn't I? They are SUPER easy to make & everyone LOVES them. My 7 year old grandson declares them as his favorite. The dates melt into the batter and give it a gooey flavor of sweetness. You can leave out the nuts for those with allergies & they will still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe! I followed it but substitued 1c of each, walnuts, chocolate chips, raisins and coconut for the dates and walnuts. This recipe is totally adaptable to what you want to add. Next time I'm going to try different mixes of fruit, nuts, and other add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
For taste I am giving this a 5 star rating. But I did have disappointing results with the edges raising and browning up, way before the middle was done. Will try again to see if get different results. I didn't have full 2 cups of dates so I used craisins as a fill in but I don't think that has anything to do with edges getting tooooooo brown before middle was done and my oven temps are right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These bars are moist, tasty and easy to make. I made them several times during the winter holidays. A crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made a half batch of this yesterday with figs instead of dates. Took them to dessert party and everyone loved them. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My family and friends loved these. Very fast and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
So good and so easy! These have been a hit every time I've made them. I'd suggest getting whole dates and chopping them yourself as opposed to the already chopped dates. This makes the chunks bigger and more flavorful. And the more dates the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
These were awesome! Buttery tasting, chewy, and fairly easy to prepare. It's a very thick batter, so I wet my hands and pressed it down. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I love these! I usually think that cake mix is pretty gross, but my step mother made these for years before I ever knew that they were made from a box mix. If you like nuts and dates you should really try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These bars are wonderful! And soooo simple. Thesse will be my go to recipe for when I am craving dates. They were also great for putting in lunch boxes all week too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States