Chewy Crispy Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I made these cookies twice. The second time, I toasted the coconut first. This made them much better, and more "coconutty". To toast the coconut just spread it on a baking sheet, and bake it at 350 for 5-10 mins, stirring a few times. I also used rice krispies instead of cornflakes the second time, and I liked it much better. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Great cookies, Melissa. I made a batch in compliance with the recipe and agreed with a couple other reviewers that they had a slightly salty taste. The second batch was made eliminating the baking powder and 1/2 the salt, also added toasted walnuts and chocolate chips. Baked at 375degrees for 9 minutes. CRISPY AND DELISH! Just the way my family likes them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Toast the coconut at 350 degrees for ten minutes prior to putting into the mixture, add a 1/2 cup chocolate chip cookies, and add 1/2 cup more flour - perfection! The toasting of the coconut really gives it a true coconut flavor. I was also generous on the vanilla. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I made these cookies leaving out the salt. I arranged them on a air-bake cookie sheet in 1-tsp size rounded balls, then smashed them somewhat 'flat'. I baked on a for 9 minutes at 325 degrees in a convection oven. (375 degrees if non-convection). After they had cooled, I melted 1-1/2 cups semi-seet chocolate chips and 3 tbsp shortening. (Double boiler or microwave 1 min or until melted) I then dipped the cookie 1/2 way, then layed on wax paper to cool. They didn't last very long! You can also use white chocolate chips as an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Did I just die and go straight to heaven?? These cookies are extremely good. They are truly crispy. The ingredients don't stick together like in other cookie dough, but it melts together during the baking process. I used brazil nuts instead of coconut. I also added dried cranberries instead of raisins. It's going to be another favorite!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
These cookies are awesome!! Even if you don't like coconut you'll love these! I used rice crispy cereal in place of corn flakes because I was out and they were soooo good! They really are crispy and chewy! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great. Definately a keeper and will be a frequent addition to our cookie jar. Next time I will try adding chocolate chips for a different variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afargo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great cookies. Great flavour and texture. I doubled the recipe my first time out and am glad I did. I followed the recipe as written. These cookies spread very little so you can put them much closer than the 2" specified. The first batch I shaped as per instructions. Then I found that the dough was easy to shape into a log for slice-and-bake cookies - although you do need a good sharp knife. Thanks for the recipe, Melissa J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I really wanted to do something different with these cookies, so I cooked them in miniature muffin tins. I filled them about 3/4 of the way full, and baked them right at 10 minutes. After they cooled completely, I removed them from the muffin tins and they held their shape perfectly. I didn't have the coconut or chocolate chips and I really wanted a chocolate taste in these cookies...so I added 2 packets of instant hot chocolate with marshmallows. I know it sounds funny, but the cookies had a good flavor. All I had was a packet of raspberry flavored chocolate chips (from Hershey PA) and I wasn't going to open them for this recipe. I'd be glad to make these again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Yum! This was a real hit with my whole family. I have done some baking in the past but I am not a pro and I made this recipe with ease. I did make a few changes in order to make them a bit healthier...I used 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup melted honey (just mixed in at same time as sugar) I added 1/4 tsp. baking soda (because of honey) and instead of 1/2 cup butter I used 1/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of apple sauce. I then cooked them on a lower temp. (just below 300 F) for 18-20 mins. I will definately try again with more honey and less sugar. Great recipe, thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States