Chewy Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
HELPFUL TIPS AFTER MAKING IT SEVERAL TIMES: I only tried this because I had all the ingredients and wanted something different. Well, I've now made it 20+ times, and it's always what people rave about at parties. It's amazing how good this tastes. Most adults I know DO NOT like these dunked/topped with chocolate. They taste good and have a classy look just as is. Baking for 11-13 minutes seems to work better and don't get scared off by how dry the mix appears when you add the flour. Will mix just fine... consistency of any cookie dough (butterscotch color & moist). If your dough comes out flat, your baking soda has expired or you need to put dough in fridge for an hour. As long as my butter isn't almost mushy from being room temp, I never have to put it in the fridge! Two thumbs up and toddler approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
682 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
OH MY GOSH, a local restaurant serves delicious coconut cookies that taste like these! I have been looking for the recipe. Baking is like a hobby for me, so after a little tweaking, I think I have created the PERFECT COOKIE for my family! The changes I made were: Increase the vanilla to 1 tsp. Add 2 cups crushed corn flake cereal Add 1/2 cup of toasted & cooled coconut. Then I made a separate batch and added white chocolate chips and OH BABY, they were to die for! *NOTE* For those of you who said your cookies came out flat, I have a couple suggestions for you. First, check the date on your baking soda. Also make sure it is kept stored in a cool pantry, cannot even be slightly warm. Over time, heat breaks down the product long before the expiration date. Second, cool your cookie dough in the fridge for 10-20 mins before baking. Then when you take it out of the fridge, roll dough into balls, then bake. These cookies should not come out flat at all. Happy Baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I'm a big cookie baker --everyone loves my cookies-- I tried these and everyone said these were their favorites-- I dipped the cookies in semi-sweet chocolate after I baked them -- tastes just like a Mounds bar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homecooker7
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I thought this recipe was good. After reading the reviews for this recipe, I was scared they'd turn out flat. The recipe says to drop by teaspoonfuls, I used approx. a 2 Tbsp scooper (the med. scoop from Pampered Chef), added a bit more vanilla, sugar, and coconut to the second batch. Turned out perfect. Nice and fluffy, crispy and chewy. I also baked them for 16 minutes since I used a bigger scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This recipe was simple, quick, and the cookies are delicious. Next time, I think I will add some chopped macadamia nuts and maybe drizzle a little chocolate over the top. (I used a cookie scoop and only got 23 cookies out of the recipe.If you use a scoop, bake for 13 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I think on this one it's either you love 'em or you don't. In other words, I don't necessarily think this recipe is flawed in any way, it's just a matter of personal preference whether or not you like a thin, chewy, really buttery (bordering greasy) cookie. I don't. (Especially the bordering greasy part) Hubs, for example, I know will like these a whole lot better than I do. The flavor's there but given the factors I've just mentioned along with the fact that they're not the prettiest cookie I've ever made either, I can only rate these average at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
These were very good and the extra 1/4 cup flour is the trick! It could use some extra flavor though. Maybe replacing the vanilla with coconut extract. Mine also didn't come out perfectly round like the picture. Oh well, they still taste good. Crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very nice non-chocolate addition to my Christmas cookie platters! I used a good quality vanilla and baked for the full 10 minutes til they were golden - had a nice toasted coconut flavor and perfect chewy/crispy texture. Will make these again and again - might try some rum or rum flavoring to give them a pina colada twist, but this recipe is delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
If I could give this cookie a 10 I would! These are the most yummy cookies ever! I have never written a review for anything, because of the bother of registering and all, but these were well worth it. I used oil instead of butter... only 1/3 of a cup of oil. And I added about 1/2 + cup of Toffee chips. WOW YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
OH MY GOOOOOOODNESS!!!! If you're a coconut lover you've gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,083) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States