Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very good. It's like a gooey chocolate cookie with coconut. So moist and delish. Will be making this again and yes I would add extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These are so good! They're moist, yet chewy and the combination of the coconut, chocolate chips and walnuts is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMSARAC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good. I took others suggestions and added an extra 1/2 tsp of salt, extra tsp vanilla and extra coconut (1 cup total). I also did not have enough brown sugar so I did 1 cup brown and a 1/2 cup coconut sugar....I didn't think it needed two whole cups anyhow. I also used coconut oil in place of shortening. Everyone in my family is enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Good chewy bar that isn't overly sweet. I was looking for a coconut bar but didn't want chocolate chips. The reviews seemed to all agree on butter and more coconut. I used white chocolate chips and was careful to not over bake them. They came out great. I plan to make again with white chocolate and macadamia nuts and then with the other suggestions of butterscotch chips. I think several different chip/nut combos would be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
these were far too sweet..all I could taste was the brown sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
It is ok. Not real chewy, more like a cookie. The chocolate doesn't add much. Would only make again with modicatons.....more coconut, less chocolate, and shorter bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I thought it was very bland. Not impressed with the texture either. I used high quality chips, and it still seemed to lack in flavor. Barely tasted the coconut. Will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
These were good. I felt that 1 1/2c sugar would have been too sweet for us combined with the chocolate chips and the coconut so I cut it back to about 3/4c. Next time I would cut the chocolate back to 1c but I'm also not a huge chocolate fan. There was just enough coconut flavor without being overwhelming. Served with a scoop of lite vanilla ice cream. Definitely keep it in mind for next time. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I've made these several times and always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
It was good and easy to make but you couldn't taste the coconut. Next time I'll either omit the coconut or add 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Mattos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States