Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
The batter was good, but I found the actual bars kind of bland, and a bit dry. I don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These were good but not great. I used butter instead of shortening and added 1 cup of coconut. I still feel like it needed more coconut. Next time I'll use 1 1/2 cups of coconut and maybe some coconut extract would help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
These were good but a bit too gooey in the center for my faste. They also were very rich and a bit too sweet. Better to scale back on the sweetness a little, make sure you cook completely and cut in very small pieces because a little bit goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
More coconut (at least a cup), use butter instead of shortening, add a little more vanilla, and decrease the sugar. Wow, suuuper sweet the first time I made them. I also used milk chocolate chips just because :) very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PowerPointGuru
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These were great with a little alteration to make them healthier. I substituted honey for the sugar and added flax seed and vanilla protein powder which allowed me to cut back on the flour (I used bread flour). I used coconut oil instead of shortening and put it all in a 9x9 pan at 375 degrees for 23 minutes. They came out perfect and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PowerPointGuru

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is a huge hit at home and in the office at work. I double the coconut and walnuts because my house loves them like crazy. I can't keep it in the house and was hounded to hurry up and make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very good. It's like a gooey chocolate cookie with coconut. So moist and delish. Will be making this again and yes I would add extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These are so good! They're moist, yet chewy and the combination of the coconut, chocolate chips and walnuts is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMSARAC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good. I took others suggestions and added an extra 1/2 tsp of salt, extra tsp vanilla and extra coconut (1 cup total). I also did not have enough brown sugar so I did 1 cup brown and a 1/2 cup coconut sugar....I didn't think it needed two whole cups anyhow. I also used coconut oil in place of shortening. Everyone in my family is enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Good chewy bar that isn't overly sweet. I was looking for a coconut bar but didn't want chocolate chips. The reviews seemed to all agree on butter and more coconut. I used white chocolate chips and was careful to not over bake them. They came out great. I plan to make again with white chocolate and macadamia nuts and then with the other suggestions of butterscotch chips. I think several different chip/nut combos would be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States