Chewy Cocoa Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Excellent brownie recipe, dense, very chocolatey and not too sweet. This is the second time I've made them. The first time I followed the recipe completely with no changes with great results. This time I've substituted some of the sugar with Splenda to try and reduce the carbs . I used 1 cup of white sugar and 2/3 cup of Splenda with good results. Next time I plan to use 1cup of splenda instead. Pretty perfect to satisfy my chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These brownies are awesome! I've made them twice now and both times I've followed the recipe and they came out perfect. Make sure you take them out of the oven when they're still a little underdone because they will continue to cook in the pan when they're cooling. If you leave them to finish baking in the oven and then take them out they will dry out more and not be very chewy. This will definitely be my go to brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schultzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I'm sure these must be wonderful made as written, but I tried doing it with Splenda instead of sugar. Yech.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Kosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
More cake like than I wanted, but still very good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Mullan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Love it!! I added 1 cup of milk chocolate chips to give it a little more sweetness...They were gone in one night! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Used 1 cup of Ghirardelli cocoa and and 1/2 c Ghirardelli choc chips! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made two batches - one made exactly as written, and another with changes. The second batch - instead of 3/4 cup butter, I substituted 1/4 cup butter + 1/2 cup applesauce. I then cut the the sugar to 1 cup and increased the cocoa powder to 1 full cup. My husband likes the first batch, but I like the second batch since the first was too sweet for me. Both did come out cakey. Maybe I'll try a more fudgey recipe next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Delicious and perfect! I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan, and added 1/2 cup chocolate chips instead of nuts. (Baked for 22 minutes) Too delicious!! Next time I'll use a slightly smaller pan, as they were a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This recipe is wonderful....sooooo much better than the box brownies and pretty much just as easy. I did not even have to get out my mixer and I really love that! I made them as directed and I also added some caramel (swirled in them before baked). The second time I made them with dark chocolate cocoa powder and they were wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Cooked exactly as described. Used chopped pecans. A fantastic dense, chewy brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States