Chewy Cinnamon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
These cookies were super easy to make with a short list of ingredients. A couple of things: *made a lot more cookies than 24 (I used a 2t scoop and ended up with around 60), *I baked them for the full 11 minutes and they were perfectly light and just a little chewy *Used parchment paper instead of ungreased sheet *Let them cool on the sheet before transferring to a wire rack since they were soft while they were still warm My husband said they taste like chewy gingersnaps, I think they taste like cinnamon cake. Great recipe, and a definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bailey
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
As an inexperienced cook, I found this recipe pretty easy to make. Two things though, and I'm not sure if this is common knowledge or not, but I made half the cookies on flat 'air flow' baking sheets with no sides/edges, and half of the batch with a regular baking sheet. The cookies seemed to really flatten out like pancakes on the air flow sheet, but on the other baking sheet they were fine. As well, I added a bit more cinnamon, because I love the stuff, but it really ended up being overpowering once they were done. Hope that helps any baking newbies out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These flatten out A LOT, so spread them far apart on the cookie sheet and 350 is a littlee to hot because the middle doesn't cook as fast as the outside. On the otherhand, they taste VERY good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These were great warm, right out of the oven and still great the next day crumbled over vanilla ice cream. All 5 of us loved them, and we will be making this a regular addition to our dessert favorites. Can't wait to try it again with butterscotch chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
These are some of the best cookies I've made. Few ingredients and an easy recipe. They are right up there with oatmeal and toll house cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is a soft cookie, which I knew it would be because of the higher ratio of brown sugar (which lends softness) to white sugar (which lends crispiness). While I knew this would not appeal to me, as I like my cookies crunchy, I knew Hubs would like them - and he did. Neither of us could taste graham cracker flavor – I, of course, knew it was in there but Hubs did not. In addition, I found them a tad on the greasy side. A bag of cinnamon chips (roughly 2 cups) boosted the cinnamon flavor. As I do with all my cookie dough that begins with butter, I gave it a stint in the fridge for an hour or so until it was semi-firm. So between the softness, the somewhat greasiness and the fact the graham cracker flavor was barely apparent, these were not my favorite cookie. Hubs, on the other hand, loved them, so I’ll use his rating of four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Easy to make. Very subtle cookie ... not rich or overly sweet. I think I was hoping for gooey cookies with a very "cinnamony" taste. I agree they taste like a cinnamon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very easy recipe. I used a cookie scoop and got almost 4 dozen. They do spread so be careful how many you bake at a time. But they were delicious and the house smells great when you're baking them. Added them to my Christmas cookie collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These cookies seem more of a cake texture than a cookie texture, but nontheless, they were really delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
It's just me to change a recipe using my experience & other's reviews soooo here's what I did differently: More cinnamon - half teaspoon more; subbed half cup whole wheat flour for white; 3/4c white sugar & 1/2c brown. With the sugar in the crumbs, nearly 1/4c in 2c crumbs, I couldn't add all the sugar. They were plenty sweet. 'Could probably reduce it even more. I chilled the dough then shaped it into a log on wax paper, rolled it, froze & sliced. Mine took longer to bake, as expected with refrigeration, & they were still chewy even with browned edges. 'Not the prettiest cookies & they do spread (less with wheat flour), but they did the trick for using up graham cracker crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States