Chewy Cinnamon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were good. Very soft and sweet. The edges crystallized overnight though and it was hard to cut edges. But they were still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
AMAZING! I absolutely loved these. I didn't have pecans though, so I put walnuts and raisins in it instead. It was very yummy:P everybody loved them:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
They smell amazing, and cook up better than I expected them to. The dough is very thick, and I thought it might be a bit too dense, but I curbed my desire to fidget with the recipe (I did use 3/4 c flour instead of 1/2, but other than that I was good) and decided to see how it went. Good choice on my part. Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I liked the recipe ok. It came together super simple so I'll give it 4 stars for that. It was however hard to really tell when done. I cooked mine for 45 minutes. I rolled on batch in 10x sugar then decided as other reviews said that it was easier to sprinkle a heavy coating on top after I had cut it into squares. Then I let cool a bit and took out the pan. I didn't have extra butter problems others reported, but I used real salted butter. The taste was good, but it wasn't anything more than just a snicker doodle / sugar cookie taste. I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
YUUUUUUUMMMM!! I didn't have any pecans on hand, so I made without them. After reading the other reviews about too much butter and them being hard I altered the recipe a bit. I used the same amounts of butter and sugar but I increased the flour to 3/4 and I used 2 eggs and increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp. Baked for 37 min, and they were AWESOME! Crunchy outside and like a brownie inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Excellent flavor; definitely a bit crunchy once cooled, so do cut while warm. Once you warm them up in your mouth they are very chewy and soo delicious! I used chopped pecans instead of finely chopped, and I think it was a mistake; the bars are small enough that the big pecans make them fall apart easier. Rolling in powdered sugar is a bit of a hassle but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These did not turn out at all as a cookie bar, but crumbled up and sprinkled over ice cream or other desserts, it is great. It ended up like a praline crumble which I will contemplate making for that purpose in the future. I too couldn't seem to get them out of the pan and they were far too crunchy to eat as a cookie-type bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I really liked the flavor and I loved that they were chewy. But they were hard to get out of the pan cause of the stickiness- not sure if I underbaked them or if that's how they really are. I also agree they were a bit too greasy so I will definitely make again using a little less margarine and see what happens. I usually don't add nuts to this kind of dessert, but I did put pecans on top on half of it and I actually really enjoyed it that way as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
These are really good. Did not roll in the sugar, didn't need it. Has a really good cinnamon flavor. They were really flat. No matter, and they were chewy, yum, love the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I doubled the recipe and cooked in a 15x10 pan. The kids dont like nuts so just pressed the pecans into top of 2/3rd of the pan. Was Very Yummy! Tasted like pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States