Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My history class really liked these cookies. I enjoyed them as well. The only problem was the fact that my first batch were a little crunchy.. maybe i shouldn't have baked them as long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Kathy Jo was right. These cookies came out flatter than flat. Before baking, I chilled the dough as one reviewer suggested and even after the chilling, I noticed the dough was still soft. But I baked off a batch anyway. To make this recipe viable, I had to add 3/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup cocoa powder. To those who have had success with this recipe, I am glad. However, I baked these on a normal humidity day at an altitude that is within the average so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mumsy
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Tastes like a delicious chocolate peanut butter brownie. I decreased the butter to one cup, softened, and increased the baking time to twelve minutes because I prefer a crispier cookie. These are so good, I'm tempted to eat them all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I sometimes like to use 1 cup peanut butter chips and the other cup semi sweet chips. One of our FAVORITE cookies ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraceyHawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very good flavors - but I think the butter is why some of the reviewers said they spread too much. First, there is a bit too much butter. I used 1 and 1/4 cups (reduced by 1/4 cup) and they didn't spread too much. Also - don't melt the butter! You should soften it at room temp and then beat in bowl until it is creamy. I also (almost always) add twice as much chips - because that's the way my kids like them! For this, I use one bag of peanut butter chips and also a package of peanut butter M&Ms. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made 2 minor changes and they came out great. Per a previous reviewer I reduced the butter to 1 cup and also used chocolate chips, since that was what I had on hand. Will definitely be making again. If your cookies flatten out too much, try letting the dough sit for 10 minutes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
After looking at the recipe and reading the reviews I knew I could solve the "pancake cookie" problem easily. Instead of using 1.5 CUPS of butter, just use 1 cup. Doing this made my cookies come out perfectly! They're soft, moist and just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
AWESOME! I have been looking for a Chocolate Cookie recipe for years. I wanted one that tasted like the ones I got in Grammar School on Fridays. They were the best. Change the peanut butter to chocolate chips and you've got them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
YUMMY!! these are perfect! i halved the recipe because i only had a little less than a cup of peanut butter chips left so i added a little peanut butter to the dough as well and they came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Giving it 4 stars only b/c I had to alter the recipe to get a better result. I, too, used 3/4c butter (not margarine) + 3/4c shortening, as well as, 1c wt. sugar + 1c brn. sugar. With these alterations, I didn't HAVE TO chill the dough. I planned doing so, but made a test batch 1st b/c I was too impatient. Even then cookies NEVER ran. I still did store in refrigerator while waiting them to bake. At first, I made small 2" cookies using the 1tsp scoop as directed, baking for 8 mins. But that took too long & we prefer the big cookies. Nervous about even baking & issues that often come up with large cookies, I eventually changed to using 1Tbls & flattening it out some (must do or will be uncooked in middle) and baking for about 12-13 minutes. Made perfect, large chewy yet crisp delicious cookies. W/out brown sugar-not as soft; with only butter-not worth attempting; chilling-as I made it, didn't seem to make a world of difference. **always be sure to allow pans to cool completely between baking times**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States