Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were delicious! I used softened butter, not melted and did not end up with thin flattened cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Followed the recipe, and as others said - they did spread out. I did make dough in advance and refridgerated for 3 days. I tried lowering the heat and cooking longer on the second batch, and that helped a bit. I ended up using a round cookie cutter to cut off spread out edges and 're-baking'. I brought these to my kids for Christmas, and I must say, they seemed to be very popular, and I received many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Pretty great cookie. Took comment advice and didn't follow the butter - I used 1c butter and 1/4c shortening (and 2 t. vanilla), and I didn't melt it all the way - just reeeeeeally soft. Cookies did not flatten out - consistency was almost perfect, like a toll house. Hopefully they will stand the overnight test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
After reading the reviews, I decided to use Butter Flavor Crisco and used 1C white and 1C brown sugar. Using an insulated baking sheet, these turned our puffy, chewy and delicious! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
You should definitely NOT MELT THE BUTTER in this recipe. It is almost exactly the recipe on the back of the "Reese's Peanut Butter Chips" bag...except in the Reese's recipe there is 1/4 c. LESS butter and it is certainly not melted. You should be able to "cream" the butter. I would recommend just buying the Reese's bag and following the recipe on the bag (although it, too, can be altered to taste...for example I usually use less sugar and sometime will do part white/part brown sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My history class really liked these cookies. I enjoyed them as well. The only problem was the fact that my first batch were a little crunchy.. maybe i shouldn't have baked them as long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Kathy Jo was right. These cookies came out flatter than flat. Before baking, I chilled the dough as one reviewer suggested and even after the chilling, I noticed the dough was still soft. But I baked off a batch anyway. To make this recipe viable, I had to add 3/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup cocoa powder. To those who have had success with this recipe, I am glad. However, I baked these on a normal humidity day at an altitude that is within the average so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mumsy
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Tastes like a delicious chocolate peanut butter brownie. I decreased the butter to one cup, softened, and increased the baking time to twelve minutes because I prefer a crispier cookie. These are so good, I'm tempted to eat them all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I sometimes like to use 1 cup peanut butter chips and the other cup semi sweet chips. One of our FAVORITE cookies ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraceyHawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very good flavors - but I think the butter is why some of the reviewers said they spread too much. First, there is a bit too much butter. I used 1 and 1/4 cups (reduced by 1/4 cup) and they didn't spread too much. Also - don't melt the butter! You should soften it at room temp and then beat in bowl until it is creamy. I also (almost always) add twice as much chips - because that's the way my kids like them! For this, I use one bag of peanut butter chips and also a package of peanut butter M&Ms. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States